LibGuides: Nursing and Allied Health: NURB 2160

QuickLinks to CON-SAH Resources

Suggested Search Terms

Culture

Transcultural Nursing

Religion and Religions

Acculturation

Cultural safety

Cultural values

Cultural diversity

Ethical Issues subheading in CINAHL

Cross Culture Communication HM1211 .C75 2004 DVD

Issues in cross-cultural communication are examined including public behavior, taboos, power, stereotyping, time conceptualization, socialization, direct and indirect communication and high context versus low context cultures.

Transcultural Concepts in Nursing Care RT 86.54 .A53 2012

Transcultural Concepts in Nursing Care takes a life span approach to describe cultural variations in lifestyle, habits, beliefs, and life process; and in doing so, provides a framework that will improve health and nursing care to minority, underrepresented, disenfranchised, and marginalized populations. Included: tools to effectively perform cultural assessments and incorporate findings into their interventions.

Transcultural Health Care: a culturally competent approach, 4th ed RA418.5 .T73 2013

The Purnell twelve-step model to examine 33 population groups from a health care perspective is included. A personal understanding of the traditions and customs of their societies, provides a unique perspective on the implications for patient care.

e-Book in STAT!Ref

Guide to Culturally Competent Health Care 3rd ed 2014

Online Library Research
Ten slides covering the research process and basic searching in CINAHL, the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health literature.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Broad, general periodical database that includes over 13,000 scholarly and popular journals. Many articles are full-text.
Abstracts in Social Gerontology This link opens in a new window
This bibliographic database makes essential age-related content readily available for researchers of gerontology. Those interested in the field of geriatrics will benefit from this resource, which includes bibliographic records covering psychology of aging, elder abuse, society and the elderly, and other key areas of relevance to geriatric studies
Encyclopedia of Social Work This link opens in a new window
A continuously updated online collaboration between the National Association of Social Workers (NASW) and Oxford University Press (OUP). Over 400 overview articles, on key topics ranging from international issues to ethical standards, offer students, scholars, and practitioners a trusted foundation for a lifetime of work and research, with new articles and revisions to existing articles added regularly.
Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Scholarly database for the social work field. Now includes full text or links for many articles.
Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
Alt Healthwatch is a full-text alternative health research database focused on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Broad, general periodical database that includes over 13,000 scholarly and popular journals. Many articles are full-text.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text (20 simultaneous users) This link opens in a new window
CINAHL® Plus with Full Text is a comprehensive nursing & allied health research database, providing full text for more than 770 journals.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Scholarly database for research in the field of education. - Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, this database provides extensive coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.
Health Source: Nursing & Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Health Source provides scholarly full text, peer-reviewed journal articles focusing on many medical disciplines, including information on U. S. prescription drugs, hard-to-find herbal and nutritional supplements, over-the-counter products and new drugs
Health e-Books This link opens in a new window
Health reference books in the areas of:. Addictions & Substance Abuse, Complementary & Alternative Medicine, Genetics & Inherited Conditions, Infectious Diseases & Conditions, Magill's Medical Guide, Seventh Edition, Psychology and Mental Health.
Joanna Briggs (JBI Database This link opens in a new window
Best available evidence to inform your clinical decision-making at the point of care.
MedLine This link opens in a new window
Includes authoritative medical and clinical information. Very little full text = increased Interlibrary Loan usage.
MEDLINE® provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. There is very little full text. Interlibrary loan can be done through NSULA Illiad.
Nursing & Allied Health Premium This link opens in a new window
Find complete, full-text information from leading nursing, allied health, and related publications from Journals, Magazines and Dissertations. . For researchers at health-care facilities as well as students enrolled in nursing and allied health programs.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains over 3 million records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
This full-text database is an essential tool for psychologists, counselors, researchers and students, providing extensive coverage for a broad range of subjects in the fields of psychology, behavioral sciences and related disciplines.
SocINDEX This link opens in a new window
Look here for FULL TEXT articles in Sociology and related fields
TRIP - Turning Research into Practice This link opens in a new window
Trip Evidence Based Practice clinical search engine is designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. Clinicians can search across other content types including images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news.
Results are displayed in the 4S approach to current best evidence of studies, syntheses, synopses, and systems. The TRIP categories are: Evidence-based Synopses; Clinical Questions; Systematic Reviews; Guidelines (North American, Europe, Other); Core Primary Research; eTextbooks; Clinical Calculators; and core general medical journals retrieved from MEDLINE (PubMed).

Board Vitals: Family Nurse Practitioner (AANP and ANCC) This link opens in a new window
Medical Board Review & Question Bank. Expert preparation for required boards. Products target the specific topics and formats of every major exam for RNs, LPNs, nurse practitioners, and other advanced practice nurses: AACN.. AANP, ANCC, Critical Care Nursing, Adult Geriatric Primary Care Nursing, ANCC Family Nursing Practice, Pharm. CE for NP & APRN, NCLES-PN, NCLEX-RN, Pediatric Primary Care, Psychiatric Mental Health NP.
Health e-Books This link opens in a new window
Health reference books in the areas of:. Addictions & Substance Abuse, Complementary & Alternative Medicine, Genetics & Inherited Conditions, Infectious Diseases & Conditions, Magill's Medical Guide, Seventh Edition, Psychology and Mental Health.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Comprises more than 23 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

(ADD) Anatomy Flashcard Learning System

Anatomicus - Anatomy Cards

Nursing and Allied Health: NURB 2160

Suggested Search Terms

Cross Culture Communication HM1211 .C75 2004 DVD

Transcultural Concepts in Nursing Care RT 86.54 .A53 2012

Transcultural Health Care: a culturally competent approach, 4th ed RA418.5 .T73 2013

e-Book in STAT!Ref

Thank you for visiting our Libraries!

Visit Our Libraries