This is the "Home" page of the "Louisiana and Southern History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Louisiana and Southern History  

This guide is designed to help students find resources on Louisiana and Southern History. It may be used in conjunction with the United States History--Civil War guide.
Last Updated: Feb 13, 2012 URL: http://libguides.nsula.edu/content.php?pid=248058 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Reference Resourcs

Most of the Louisiana titles can be found in both the reference department and the Cammie G. Henry Research Center. The Southern Titles are in the reference room only. 

For journal articles, the same databases recommended in the United States History LibGuide will also provide Louisiana articles.

A Dictionary of Louisiana biography - Conrad, Glenn R.
Call Number: CT237 .D53 1988 REF.
Publication Date: 1988

A Dictionary of Louisiana biography ten-year supplement 1988-1998 - Brasseaux, Carl A.
Call Number: CT237 .D53 1988 SUPPL. REF.
Publication Date: 1999.
Supplement to 1989 biographical resources.

A history of Louisiana - Fortier, Alcee,
Call Number: F369 .F74 REF.
Publication Date: 1904, c1903.
4 volume set

Bayou state periodical index - University of Southwestern Louisiana. Libraries.
Publication Date: 1985-
Online index to Louisiana topics including history. It may be accessed under Database Directory, Databases by Title or Under History

Bibliography of Louisiana parish history : a sourcebook for local history - Jordan, H. Glenn.
Call Number: F377 .A15 J67 1999 REF.
Publication Date: 1999

Biographical and historical memoirs of Louisiana;
Call Number: F369 .B62 REF
Publication Date: 1892
This two volume set is also available in the Cammie G. Henry Research Center

Charting Louisiana : five hundred years of maps - Lemmon, Alfred E.
Call Number: GA427 .C48 2003 REF.
Publication Date: 2003

Chronology and documentary handbook of the State of Louisiana - Vexler, Robert I.
Call Number: F369 .C47 REF.
Publication Date: 1978

Encyclopedia of forts, posts, named camps, and other military installations in Louisiana, 1700-1981 - Casey, Powell A.
Call Number: F367 .C37 1983 REF.
Publication Date: 1983

Encyclopedia of Southern culture - Wilson, Charles Reagan.
Call Number: F209 .E53 1989 REF
Publication Date: 1989

Encyclopedia of the antebellum South - Volo, James M.
Call Number: F213 .V65 2000 REF.
Publication Date: 2000

Historical atlas of Louisiana - Goins, Charles Robert.
Call Number: G1361 .S1 G6 1995 REF.
Publication Date: 1995
Also available as an EBook through NetLibrary

Historical dictionary of the Old South - Richter, William L
Call Number: F213 .R53 2006 REF
Publication Date: 2006

LOUISiana Digital Library
The LOUISiana Digital Library is an online depository of materials from many of Louisiana's libraries. Over 144,000 digital records can be accessed by Louisiana residents.

Louisiana history : an annotated bibliography - Jumonville, Florence M.
Call Number: F369 .J86 2002 REF.
Publication Date: 2002.
An annotated bibliography guides the user to other resources.

The American South; historical atlas - Morrison, Olin Dee.
Call Number: G1280 .M67 REF.
Publication Date: 1965

The encyclopedia of Louisiana
Call Number: F369 .E53 1999 REF.
Publication Date: 1999

The Encyclopedia of Southern history - Roller, David C.
Call Number: F207.7 .E52 REF.
Publication Date: c1979.

The Encyclopedia of the South - O'Brien, Robert,
Call Number: F207.7 .O27 1985 REF.
Publication Date: 1985

The historical encyclopedia of Louisiana - Davis, Ellis Arthur.
Call Number: F369 .D382 REF.
Publication Date: n.d.

The Louisiana Purchase : a historical and geographical encyclopedia - Rodriguez, Junius P.
Call Number: E333 .L69 2002 REF.
Publication Date: 2002

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip