This is the "Home" page of the "Linguistics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Linguistics   Tags: research  

Linguistics resources and databases
Last Updated: Jan 26, 2012 URL: http://libguides.nsula.edu/content.php?pid=297368 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Resources

This is a selected bibliography of resources available in both print and electronic formats. Use the online catalog for additional or more specific titles.

Critical applied linguistics : a critical introduction - Pennycock, Alastair
Publication Date: 2001
EBook through NetLibary

Dictionary of linguistics and phonetics - Crystal, David
Call Number: P29 .C65 1985 REF
Publication Date: 1985

Encyclopedia of language and linguistics - Asher, R. E.
Call Number: P29 .E48 1994 Ref.
Publication Date: 1994-
10 vol. set

Ethnography, linguistics, narrative inequality : toward an understanding of voice - Hymes, Dell H.
Publication Date: 2003
EBook from NetLibrary

French and Creole in Louisiana - Valdman, Albert.
Call Number: PC3680 .U7 L7346 1997
Publication Date: 1997

Handbook of applied linguistics - Davies, Alan
Publication Date: 2004
EBook from Netlibrary

Language and Communication: A Cross-Cultural Encyclopedia. - Findlay, Michael Shaw
Publication Date: 1998
EBook from Gale Virtual Reference Library

Linguistic atlas of the Gulf States - Pederson, Lee
Call Number: PE2970 .G85 L56 1986 Ref.
Publication Date: 1986

Linguistics : an introduction to language and communication - Akmajian, Adrian
Publication Date: 2001
EBook from NetLibrary

 

Databases

Academic Search Complete- general database. Use Linguistics as a subject term and limit to peer reviewed journals.

JSTOR-journal archive which means that current volumes may not be available for some titles. This database contains 38 linguistic titles from the 1800s up to the 2000s. Note: unless you restrict the content to articles the library has access to you will need to rely on Interlibrary Loan to acquire those items.

MLA International Bibliography-provides coverage for linguistics. This database has limited full text so users must rely on interlibrary Loan to get most of the articles, books, etc.

Project Muse-scholarly database that includes content for linguistics. Note: unless you specifically restrict the content to articles the library has access to, you will need to rely on interlibrary loan to acquire those items.

World Cat--database which provides access to primarily books available in thousands of libraries. It will identify those titles available in Watson Library.

 

Other Information

To locate journals available through the library databases or in print format, consult the guide on Locating Journals.

For assistance in using Interlibrary Loan, please consult the guide on Interlibrary Loan.

Research help:

Email: Use Ask-A-Librarian in the EBSCO databases or Ask a Reference Question from the library homepage.

Text reference: You may text reference questions to (318) 228-5150

Research Consultations: Contact one of the reference librarians at 357-4574 or Abbie Landry, library director at 357-4403/email: Landry@nsula.edu for help with the databases.

Archival Help: is available by appointment. Contact Ms. Mary Linn Wernet at 357-4585 or Wernet@nsula.edu to set up an appointment for assistance. Be sure to give her specific information on what you need so she can have it ready for you.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip