This is the "Home" page of the "Music Education" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Music Education   Tags: research  

Find books and articles appropriate to music education.
Last Updated: Feb 13, 2012 URL: http://libguides.nsula.edu/content.php?pid=306379 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books

Use the online catalog to locate books on music education. Note: the more commonly used heading is School Music or Music in Education.

Integrating music into the elementary classroom - Anderson, William M.
Call Number: MT1 .A696 2001
Publication Date: 2001
Also has accompanying CD:MT1 .A696 2001 CD in Serials

Music 7-11 : developing primary teaching skills - Hennessy, Sarah
Publication Date: 2002
netLibrary E-Books

Music in childhood : from preschool through the elementary grades - Campbell, Patricia Shehan
Call Number: MT1 .C226 1995
Publication Date: 1995

Music with the under-fours - Young, Susan
Publication Date: 2003
netLibrary

Musical story hours : using music with storytelling and puppetry - Painter, William M
Call Number: Z718.3 .P34 1989
Publication Date: 1989

Primary music - Glover, Joanna.
Publication Date: 2003
netLibrary E-Books

Teaching music in the twenty-first century - Choksy, Lois
Call Number: MT1 .T38 2001
Publication Date: 2001
This book may be on reserve at the circulation desk. Check the online catalog for location.

Teaching music through performance in orchestra - Littrell, David Ault
Call Number: MT125 .T435 2001 v.1-v.2
Publication Date: 2001

 

Databases

On the library webpage, go to the menu on the right hand of the page and select Database Directory. Because this search falls under both Music and Education, some of the databases will be under Arts and Humanities and others under Education. You may also want to select under Databases by Title.

Databases that will provide information include:

Academic Search Complete--be sure to select peer reviewed.

ERIC-Education--be sure to select journals

JSTOR--has 83 music journals including Music Educators Journal

Music Index--best subject heading is "music in education."

PsycInfo--psychology and cognitive learning.

Professional Development Collection--education




 

Journals

See the NSU Journal List (see User's Guide) to find titles of Music Education Journals. Some of these are in databases, some are print subscriptions and some are ejournals. Print journals are located on the 3rd floor in the Serials-Media department.

Some examples of journals in databases include:

Bulletin of the Council for Research in Music Education JSTOR

Journal of Historical Research in Music Education JSTOR

Journal of Music Teacher Education Sage Premier

Journal of Research in Music Education Academic Search Complete

Music Educators Journal JSTOR

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip