This is the "Home" page of the "Art" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Art   Tags: electronic resources  

Library Resources in Art
Last Updated: Sep 19, 2016 URL: http://libguides.nsula.edu/content.php?pid=584625 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Basic Information

Watson Library has a number of print and electronic resources for faculty, staff, and students needing information in the areas of art, art history, design, and graphics. The following guide will help you get started in locating needed resources.

 

Basic Reference Sources

The following are print resources from the reference collection of Watson Library. These items do not circulate, but may be copied using the scanner and a USB drive.

Cover Art
Atlas of World Art - John Onians (Editor)
Call Number: G1046 .E1 O9 2004 REF
ISBN: 0195215834
Publication Date: 2004-05-20

Cover Art
Icons of Beauty - Lindsay J. Bosch; Debra N. Mancoff
Call Number: N7630 .M25 2010 REF.
ISBN: 9780313338212
Publication Date: 2009-12-01

Cover Art
Lives of Great 20th Century Artists - Edward Lucie-Smith
Call Number: N6489 .L83 1999 REF.
ISBN: 0500237395
Publication Date: 1999-09-01

Cover Art
The 20th Century Art Book - Phaidon Press Editors
Call Number: N6490 .T9 1996 REF
ISBN: 0714835420
Publication Date: 1996-03-10

Cover Art
The Continuum Encyclopedia of Animal Symbolism in Art - Hope B. Werness (Illustrator)
Call Number: GR705 .W47 2004 REF
ISBN: 0826415253
Publication Date: 2003-11-13

The dictionary of art - Turner, Jane,
Call Number: N31 .D5 1998 REF.
Publication Date: 1998

Cover Art
The Oxford Companion to Western Art - Hugh Brigstocke (Editor)
Call Number: N33 .O923 2001 REF.
ISBN: 0198662033
Publication Date: 2001-11-22

 

Electronic Reference Resources

Watson Library has a collection of electronic reference books (ebooks) that can be accessed through both the catalog and Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL).

Cover Art
American Folk Art - Kristin G. Congdon; Kara Kelley Hallmark
ISBN: 9780313349379
Publication Date: 2011-12-01
Access via online catalog

Cover Art
Arts and Humanities Through the Eras - Edward Bleiberg
ISBN: 078765695X
Publication Date: 2004-10-15
Access via GVRL

Pop Art and the Origins of Post-modernism - Sylvia Harrison
ISBN: 0511016247
Publication Date: 2001
Access through online catalog

Postmodernism and the Postsocialist Condition - Ales Erjavec; Boris Groi?s
ISBN: 1417520264
Publication Date: 2003-01-01
Access through the online catalog

Cover Art
Urban Avant-Gardes - Malcolm Miles
ISBN: 0203428137
Publication Date: 2004-02-01
Access through online catalog

 

ARTStor

Artstor is a digital library providing access to over 1.6 million art images including architecture, humanities, and sciences. The images are  by museums, photographers, libraries, photo archives, and artists.

To locate images, users may use keywords, collection, classification, geography. Results can be sorted by date, creator, or title. Images can be viewed in total, zoomed, rotated, or panned.  Images may be printed, stored, uploaded, shared, downloaded, etc. (from Artstor overview)

 

Electronic Resources

To locate electronic resources for articles, go to the library webpage, locate the menu on the right hand side, select Database Directory, select Art, Music,  and Humanities. You will find the following resources:

Academic Search Complete-multipurpose database for all subjects including arts. To limit your search to academic journals, select "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals. An icon representing an "Academic Journal" will appear next to each scholarly article.

Ambrose Digital Video-Videos of various topics including "Art of the Netherlands," "History of Western Art,"  and other topics.

Art Full Text covers full-text articles from  300 art journals from 1995 to the current. Indexing of over 600 periodicals back to 1984.

Art Index Retrospective covers 1929-1984 of over 600 publications. Current titles are covered in Art Full-Text.

Biography in Context provides biographical information on famous people including artists. Biographies are search-able by name, occupation, nationality, or Birth/Death place.

JStor covers full text of 206 Art and Art History Titles. To see titles and date ranges, click on the plus sign next to the subject area. Note that most titles are not covered up to the current date since this is a journal archive (storage). To get current articles you will need to the use Art Full Text or Academic Search Complete.

Project Muse covers 566 books and 10 journals in Art and Architecture. To limit to content accessible to Northwestern State University library users, click the box for Only content I have full access to. This limits access to two journals on no books. You can browse items you do not have full-text access and then order them for free through interlibrary loan.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip