Job Duties - Head of ReferenceJob Duties - Reference AssociateJob Duties - Government Information LibrarianJob Duties - Information Literacy LibrarianJob Duties - LOUIS Systems Administrator
This is the "Giving to the Libraries" page of the "Library Practices" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Library Practices   Tags: donate, donating, donation, gift, giving, policies  

Last Updated: Dec 14, 2016 URL: http://libguides.nsula.edu/policies Print Guide RSS Updates

Giving to the Libraries Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Personal Donations

Individuals are welcome to donate books, CDs, DVDs, maps, etc. Bring the items to the library, and we will provide a record for tax purposes. We will add needed items to the library collection.

NOTE: Watson Memorial Library does not appraise materials, so we cannot assign a dollar value to your donation.

To donate archival collections, personal papers, family records, manuscripts, photographs, maps, letters, diaries, and historical materials pertaining to Louisiana, please contact the Cammie G. Henry Research Center at (318) 357- 4585.

 

Financial Donations

In order to provide quality library service to all library clientele, Northwestern State University Libraries utilizes donations to the NSU Foundation to supplement our budget.

To benefit the library, you must designate a library account for your donation.

Here are options for donating:

Eugene Watson Library Fund

This fund, named for long-time library director Dr. Eugene P. Watson, can be used for supplies, travel (to professional conferences, etc.), and equipment.

Fleming Thomas Book Fund

This fund, named in honor of former library director Mr. Fleming A. Thomas, is an endowed fund and interest generated from this account is used to purchase library needs.

 

Donating a Book Through Amazon Wish List

Would you like to help Watson Library by donating a book but aren’t sure what titles they need?

There is an easy solution!

Go to Amazon (Amazon.com) and peruse our wish list. On the far right of your Amazon screen, is a drop down menu “Wish List”. Choose “Find a Wish List or Registry”. In the box, type “Watson Library” and our list of desired titles will appear.

To order, check “Add to Cart” beside the title(s) and proceed to checkout like you would usually. Our address will appear in your choices of addresses for delivery.

Once the book arrives, a gift plate with your name as donor will be added if you leave your address in the area designated for a personalized gift message. If you would like to donate in someone’s name or memory, include that information for the gift plate in the personalized gift message section. A donation for our Leesville/Ft. Polk branch can be made, too. Please include this information in the personalized gift section. Don’t forget to include your own name and address so an acknowledgement of your gift can be mailed to you.

Thank you for considering adding valuable material to Watson Memorial Library or its branches.

Donating to the Cammie G. Henry Research Center

To support the Cammie G. Henry Research Center which includes the Louisiana Collection, Rare Books, Manuscripts, Maps, and University Archives, please designate your donation to the Dunnington Special Collections Fund. Northwestern State University professor Dr. Waldo Dunnington donated a major collection to the research center and set up this fund. Donations are used to purchase supplies for archival preservation.

 

Donating through the NSU Foundation

Mail checks to:

Office of Alumni & Development
535 University Parkway
Natchitoches, LA 71497

 

Checks should be make payable to the NSU Foundation.

To make sure the money goes to the library, you must designate one of the following in the memo of your check:

Fleming A. Thomas Book Fund

Eugene P. Watson Library Fund

Dunnington Special Collections Fund

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip