Skip to main content
site header image

Music Education: Home

Find books and articles appropriate to music education.

Books

Use the online catalog to locate books on music education. Note: the more commonly used heading is School Music or Music in Education.

Databases

On the library webpage, go to the menu on the right hand of the page and select Database Directory. Because this search falls under both Music and Education, some of the databases will be under Arts and Humanities and others under Education. You may also want to select under Databases by Title.

Databases that will provide information include:

Academic Search Complete--be sure to select peer reviewed.

ERIC-Education--be sure to select journals

JSTOR--has 83 music journals including Music Educators Journal

Music Index--best subject heading is "music in education."

PsycInfo--psychology and cognitive learning.

Professional Development Collection--education




Journals

See the NSU Journal List (see User's Guide) to find titles of Music Education Journals. Some of these are in databases, some are print subscriptions and some are ejournals. Print journals are located on the 3rd floor in the Serials-Media department.

Some examples of journals in databases include:

Bulletin of the Council for Research in Music Education JSTOR

Journal of Historical Research in Music Education JSTOR

Journal of Music Teacher Education Sage Premier

Journal of Research in Music Education Academic Search Complete

Music Educators Journal JSTOR