Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Citation LibGuide
More information on MLA style and the 8th edition template.
Purdue OWL: the standard online guide to writing style and format.
MLA Handbook, 8th ed. by
Call Number: LB2369 .G53 2016 REF, in all libraries
Publication Date: 2016
For MLA style, citations and documentation formats.
Databases at NSU--from the database directory by subject, on the mainpage
The MLA International Bibliography is the standard index for scholarship in non-classical languages. Find it online in the homepage Database Directory and also in print from 1921-1983, in the Watson reference stacks at Z 7006 M64 REF
Academic Search Complete
Broad, general periodical database that includes over 13,000 scholarly and popular journals. Many articles are full-text.
Now called Credo Reference
Check also the EBSCO eBook Academic Collection
Gale Virtual Reference Library
includes Twayne's and Scribner series on writers, World Literature and Its Times, Literary Themes for Students, and more.
JSTOR - both multidisciplinary and discipline-specific collections .Areas such as Arts and Sciences, Business, Ecology and Botany, General Science, Language and Literature, Mathematics and Statistics, and Music.
Literary Reference Center
Library Reference Center provides a spectrum of information on authors and their works across literary disciplines and time-frames. It gives students, professors and researches a foundation of literary reference works to meet their research needs.
Project MUSE contains books and journals in the humanities and social sciences from over 200 of the world’s most distinguished university presses and scholarly societies.
Department Liaison and Instruction Librarian
A Few Reference Books about Southern Literature
Encyclopedia of Southern Literature by
Call Number: PS261 .S515 1997 REF, at Watson and Leesville
Publication Date: 1997
Contemporary Southern Writers by
Call Number: PS261 .C569 1999 REF
Publication Date: 1998
Also available in Gale's Biography in Context database.
Greenwood Encyclopedia of American Regional Cultures: vol. 2, The South by
Call Number: E169.1 G73 2004 REF
Publication Date: 2004
In the reference stacks and online in Literati (Credo Reference) .
E-Books in NSULA Libraries