Career Exploration: Careers in Government

The OOH can help you find career information on duties, education and training, pay, and outlook for hundreds of occupations.

GS pay involves a pay schedule and a Cost of Living Allowance based on geographical location.

UN Locality by region and by country.

For thousands of different types of jobs, careers, and professions, the Occupational Outlook Handbook tells you about training or education needed, earnings, expected job prospects, what workers do on the job, and working conditions. In addition, the Handbook gives you job search tips, links to information about the job market in each state, and more.

Economic news releases.

Monthly, quarterly, annual and other statistics about employment and unemployment.

for 2018-2028, sorted by Industry/occupation. A more readable report form is linked below.

O*NET OnLine has detailed descriptions of individual occupations and the world of work for use by job seekers, workforce development and HR professionals, students, researchers, and more!

Produced by the U. S. Department of Labor,'s Employment and Training Administration

Provides statistical data on individual cities and towns; check its home page for more.

The CPS is a monthly survey of households conducted by the Bureau of Census for the Bureau of Labor Statistics. It includes linked information about the U.S. labor force, employment and unemployment, earnings, and other demographic statistics.

Articles with practical information on jobs and careers, plus unusual occupations, tips for job seekers, salary trends, and results of new studies from the Bureau of Labor Statistics.

This webpage from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics highlights information about various aspects of labor and the American economy. Its focus changes several times a year.

AmeriCorps VISTA (Volunteers in Service to America) members bring passion and perseverance where the need is greatest: to organizations that help eradicate poverty. AmeriCorps VISTA members serve as a catalyst for change, living and working alongside community members to meet our nation’s most pressing challenges and advance local solutions.

The Peace Corps offers training and opportunities both domestically and internationally. The Peace Corps offers many interships in diverse areas of communications, web design, fundraising, social media and more.

The Honors Internship Program is a 10-week, paid internship for undergraduate and graduate college students. While exploring our exciting career options, students will work side-by-side with FBI employees at one of our FBI Headquarters locations or in one of our 56 field offices located across the country. The goal of this internship is to offer students experiences they can't find anywhere else and to assist the FBI with building a pipeline of potential future entry-level employees. FBI Hiring Managers are seeking applicants from a wide range of academic areas of study. Interns are placed in assignments based on their educational background, skill sets and unique characteristics.

Outline of the UN Applications Process: https://careers.un.org/lbw/home.aspx?viewtype=AP

Donor countries, UN agencies, and private organizations provide research-related financial support to LDCs. Many of these are available to all developing countries with priority given to LDCs, but some are available exclusively to LDCs. Financial support is provided in the form of scholarships for graduate degree programs, fellowships for capacity development of researchers, travel grants for participating in academic conferences, research funds for conducting research projects, and so on. The field of specialization is diverse, including agriculture, business, economics, engineering, information technology, legal studies, medical science, natural science, public administration, etc.

The US Airforce offers scholarships, training and ongoing continuing education opportunities in select areas.

Army careers, scholarships and enlistment bonuses available in select program areas.

The CIA is the premier agency responsible for providing global intelligence on the ever-changing political, social, economic, technological and military environment. Here, your paramount goal and mission will be to protect the national security of the United States. Virtually any job you can imagine is available at the CIA — plus, some you can’t even imagine.

Are you looking to contribute to our nation’s security in a dynamic environment? The CIA's Undergraduate Scholarship Program gives you an opportunity to take part in an unmatched experience where you will utilize skills gained from your college major. In this scholarship program, you will increase your knowledge while assisting intelligence professionals and applying your academic skills. Scholarship applications will open in early 2019 for internship opportunities in summer 2020. Please visit this site periodically for more specific dates

The USDA Internship Program provides paid and unpaid work experience to students who are in high school or pursuing an undergraduate or graduate degree in an accredited college or university (including Home-Schooling, Certificate Programs and Community Colleges).

Students are employed in intern positions and their earnings are GS-02 to GS-05 based on their education and experience. It is open to current students enrolled in accredited programs from high school to graduate levels. Includes internships, Pathways and other student programs.

The mission of the Department of Commerce (DOC) Internship Program is to engage and empower developing leaders with a passion for public service. The program will expose students to opportunities in the Federal Government and the potential to find passion in a career in public service. Interns will gain unique experience through their placement in one of several DOC offices.

Learn more about Department of State Careers https://www.state.gov/careers/
Consular Fellows Program, Foreign Service Specialist, Foreign Service Officer, Civil Service Officer, Student Programs, Veteran's Employment Program

FDA offers student internship opportunities in research, scientific and regulatory areas.

Any law student enrolled at least half-time, and who has completed at least one semester of law school is eligible to apply for volunteer internship positions at any time. First-year law students who have not completed their first semester may apply for volunteer internships after December 1. Part-time law students and joint-degree candidates may also apply for volunteer internship positions. Law school graduation terminates eligibility for volunteer positions except for graduate law students who are enrolled at least half time and not practicing law.

The Marine Corps offers opportunities both domestically and abroad, full and partial scholarships in specific academic areas.

Navy careers and scholarships available in select programs.

The US Navy offers Nursing scholarships once a student begins their clinicals. If you are a college student opting to serve full-time in the Navy, you could apply for a nursing scholarship through the Naval Reserve Officers Training Corps (NROTC) which covers the full cost – up to $180,000 – of your nursing education at some of the best colleges and universities in the country. If you’re a nursing student opting to serve full-time in the Navy, you could get up to $34,000 to help pay your way through nursing school through the Nurse Candidate Program (NCP). This includes: An initial grant of $10,000 plus a stipend of $1,000 a month for up to 24 months. Contact a Medical Officer Recruiter.

WHO provides internships in select medical and IT disciplines.

Includes job descriptions and availability, entrance tests, pay scales. Summer internships available in some areas such as public health, literacy programs and other areas.