LibGuides: Social Work and Sociology: Sociology

Definitions and Terminology

"Sociology": topic page from Credo reference database.
A good overview, with links to other articles and library resources.
American Sociological Association
The official professional organization. Links to news, membership, volunteering, and opportunities in the field.

Electronic Books

Introduction to Sociology 2e by Jeff Bry; Faye Jones; Heather Griffiths; Nathan Keirns; Eric Strayer; Susan Cody-Rydzewski; Gail Scaramuzzo; Tommy Sadler; Sally Vyain
Call Number: Available online.
ISBN: 9781938168413
Publication Date: 2015

Principles of Sociological Inquiry--Qualitative and Quantitative Method
by Amy Blackstone, N.d.: OTN. Saylor Foundation.

Selected Print Resources

The Cambridge Dictionary of Sociology by Bryan S. Turner (Editor)
Call Number: HM425 .C36 2006 REF., Watson
ISBN: 9780521832908
Publication Date: 2006
Contemporary Sociological Theory by Ruth A. Wallace; Alison Wolf
Call Number: HM51 .W15 1995, Watson Stacks
ISBN: 9780130362452
Publication Date: 1995
Encyclopedia of Sociology
Call Number: HM425 .E5 2000 REF., Watson, in five volumes
ISBN: 9780028648538
Publication Date: 2000
Making a Difference by Irwin Deutscher
Call Number: HM51 .D48 1999, Watson Stacks
ISBN: 9781560003595
Publication Date: 1998

Journals and Databases

The Libraries' electronic books are listed in the catalog and in JSTOR, Project MUSE, and EBSCO eBook databases.

For journal articles, find a specific database in the Databases Directory on the main web page (Academic Search Complete and SOCIndex are two good ones for this area), or use FindIt and set limits (periodicals, online resources (for electronic material), or explore Serials for print and microform journals).

Ask an instructor or a librarian for help.

SocINDEX This link opens in a new window
Look here for FULL TEXT articles in Sociology and related fields