This is the "Education Resources" page of the "Education Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Education Resources   Tags: education  

Basic guide to searching education materials and databases.
Last Updated: Jan 24, 2017 URL: http://libguides.nsula.edu/content.php?pid=653179 Print Guide RSS Updates
Education Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Education Books and EBooks

To locate books and ebooks on education resources, you can use the Find It @ NSULA Libraries and select Library Catalog. For more detailed searching use the Advanced Search option especially for specific titles or authors. Below is a representative bibliography of education encyclopedias, dictionaries, and annuals:

Cover Art
Almanac of American education - Gaquin, Deirdre.
Call Number: LB2846 .A45 2011 REF.
ISBN: 9781598884777
Publication Date: 2011

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Education - James W. Guthrie
Call Number: online resource
ISBN: 9780028658827
Publication Date: 2004-02-01

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Educational Leadership and Administration - Fenwick W. English (Editor)
Call Number: LB2805 .E527 2006 REF.
ISBN: 0761930876
Publication Date: 2006-02-16

Cover Art
Greenwood Dictionary of Education - John W. Collins (Editor); Nancy Patricia O'Brien (Editor); John W. Collins
Call Number: LB15 .G68 2003 REF
ISBN: 0897748603
Publication Date: 2003-11-30

Cover Art
Psychology of Classroom Learning - Eric M. Anderman
Call Number: Gale Virtual Reference Library EBook
ISBN: 9780028661704
Publication Date: 2009

Cover Art
Teaching in a digital age - Bates, Tony, 1939-
Publication Date: 2015
Open Access

 

Databases

The following databases are recommended for educational topics:

Academic Search Complete: a multi-disciplinary database indexing more than 8,500 full text periodicals including 7,300 scholarly titles.

Book Collection Nonfiction: a research database for schools n 4,200 popular books on topics such as health, sports, technology, etc.

Educational Administration Abstracts:  covers educational administration, educational leadership, educational management, and educational research. Contains approximately 190,000 records with coverage back to 1966.

ERIC (Education Resource Information Center) provides access to educational literature such as lesson plans, curriculum guides, grant reports, and papers given at conference in the documents part. The journal section provides records for major education journals.

MAS Ultra-School Edition: designed for high school use containing full-text for 500 popular high school magazines.

Mental Measurements Yearbook: Provides information regarding diagnostic tests and examinations. It includes information on test groups, reliability, validity, review articles, and contact information. The database does not have copies of the tests.

Primary Search Education K-6: designed for elementary school students with full-text to 70 popular elementary school magazines. The articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles)

Professional Development Collection: designed for professional educators, this database contains 520 educational journals including 350 peer-reviewed titles. It also includes 200 educational reports.

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection: contains articles on mental and cognitive processes.

PsycInfo: international database of scholarly psychology articles including topics such as cognition, educational psychology, etc.

Teacher Reference Center: Indexes 280 periodicals on assessment, best practices, current pedagogy, curriculum development, etc.

Government Resources

The United States Government published information on education.  Some useful addresses are listed below:

U. S. Department of Education  http://www.ed.gov/

Condition of Education nces.ed.gov/programs/coe/

Digest of Educational Statistics nces.ed.gov/programs/digest/


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip