Government Information: Writing for Mass Media

African American Newspapers, 1827-1998, provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection, which includes papers from more than 35 states, features many rare and historically significant 19th-century titles. Newly digitized, these newspapers published by or for African Americans can now be browsed and searched as never before. Hundreds of titles—all expertly selected from leading repositories. Part of the Readex America’s Historical Newspapers collection, African American Newspapers, 1827-1998, was created from the most extensive African American newspaper archives in the United State

Oxford English Dictionary (OED Online) - This database covers words from across the English-speaking world, offers the best in etymological analysis, lists variant spellings, and it shows pronunciation using the International Phonetic Alphabet. As a historical dictionary, the OED is very different from Dictionaries of current English, in which the focus is on present-day meanings. You’ll still find present-day meanings in the OED, but you’ll also find the history of individual words, and of the language—traced through 3 million quotations, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.

An essential resource for ethnic and racial studies, this database includes abstracting for the top academic journals, books, periodicals and newspapers related to the field