LibGuides: Social Work and Sociology: SOWK 3350/4350

Louisiana State Government Information

U.S. Federal Government Information

Catalog of U.S. Government Documents
Congress.gov
govInfo--The Federal Digital System
Grants.gov
Regulations.gov
USA.gov
Government Information LibGuide
A Library Guide to government information.

Research Consultations

Students and faculty are invited to sign up for individual research consultations with a reference librarian. We recommend this particularly for students working on major research projects. Come by the reference desk or call for more information. A new request form is online--click here.

Library Electronic Resources

Library Electronic Resources – all electronic resources may be accessed in the library by clicking on the “Library Homepage” icon or from outside the library by going to our webpage at http://library.nsula.edu. If you're logging in from off campus, you will use the same user name/password you use to access Moodle or your student email.

NSU Libraries Catalog
Use the library catalog to search for books, archives, manuscripts, government documents, DVD’s, CD’s, etc owned by NSU libraries. Use the My Account feature to renew books online.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Broad, general periodical database that includes over 13,000 scholarly and popular journals. Many articles are full-text.
Lexis Nexis Academic Universe This link opens in a new window
National and international newspapers. National and International Law.
Lexis-Nexis, sometimes known as Nexis Uni, offers current news articles, archives, and federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790
Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Scholarly database for the social work field. Now includes full text or links for many articles.

SocIndex with Full Text
The world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The database features more than 1,660,000 records with subject headings from a 19,300 term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 344 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895, and 129 "priority" coverage
journals.
ERIC (Educational Resource Information Center)
Contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains over 3 million records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages.

NSU Journal List
List of all journals available through NSU libraries in either print or electronic format.
Interlibrary Loan
Request books, articles, etc, not owned by NSU libraries. FREE!!!!!

Important Online Resources

Use these to research individual policies, bills, and laws.

Federal Digital System
Free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
U.S. Code
The law of the land as it is today. Print version is located in Area B of the Reference Room.
Statutes at Large - Public and Private Laws
Bills as they are signed into law. Print version is located in Area B of the Reference Room. Please note that the online version only goes back to the 104th Congress!
Code of Federal Regulations
The codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the executive departments and agencies of the Federal Government. Print version is located in Area B of the Reference Room
Federal Register
The official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other Presidential documents. Print version is in room 111 of Watson Library.
Congressional Record
The official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress. It is published daily when Congress is in session. Print version is located in room 111 of Watson Library.