To locate articles on United States history, use the Database Directory on the library's main page. The History directory lists and links to databases recommended for historical research.
Academic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary, general-purpose database containing many full-text articles. To make sure you get scholarly research, be sure to select Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
Bayou State Periodical Index indexes (no full text) Louisiana topics including Louisiana history.
CQ Researcher is mostly current events, but does contain historical background and chronologies.
Credo is a reference database, with millions of articles from encyclopedias and dictionaries, both specialized and general.
Dissertations and Theses A&I provides the abstracts for dissertations, not full-text.
Gale Virtual Reference Library is online reference books. Many of the history ones are listed in the section above this one.
History Reference Center indexes historical journals and includes many full-text articles.
JSTOR is one of the best resources for history. It covers over 287 history titles. Be sure to select the box Include only content I can access to get full-text articles.
Nexis Uni and Newspaper Source provide newspapers and legal resources.
Military and Government Collection is useful for military history and government documents.
Project Muse is similar to JSTOR in that in provides full text access to journals. Select Article Search and select Only Content I have full access to.
World Cat is the online catalog to books and materials for most academic and some public librarie
As you do your research, you may discover information about books and articles that are not available in the library. the NSULA Libraries can get most of these materials through Interlibrary Loan. Click here to request a loan.
The reference division of Watson Library offers individual research consultations by appointment to all students, faculty, and staff. This consists of meeting with a reference librarian to discuss how to get started on your research, formulating a topic, selecting keywords or subject terms, identifying resources, and learning how to use these resources. You make an appointment for research consultations with one of the reference librarians. The consultations take about an hour. You will be asked to fill out a form identifying the topic you want to search and any terms, limitations, etc. on your research. Find the form in the Learning the Library LibGuide, or contact any librarian.
For online history reference, use the Gale Virtual Reference Library, the History Reference Center, or Credo databases.
NSULA Libraries has a large collection of history books and related items. Browse in the D, E, and F classes of the book stacks for more, or use a specific term to search the catalog. Below are a few of the many more specialized books available.
Datapedia of the United States by