Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

A Guide to Database and Catalog Searching: Bibliographic Elements

How to access and search library databases and catalog

 

                                         For more information about bibliographic citation, click here for the Citation LibGuide.

What Are Bibliographic Elements?

Bibliographic elements are the pieces of information used to describe a book, journal/periodical/magazine, newspaper, or Internet resource. this descriptive information is used to create a bibliography (sometimes known as a Reference List or Works Cited). Every citation format or style includes the same four elements: author, date, title, and source (which may be the book publisher, the journal information for an article, and the electronic information like DOI).  this information comes from the title page of a book or journal or the electronic record in a database. For a website, look around to find author and title equivalents, publisher, and date. for help, consult an instructor or a librarian.

Bibliographic Elements of a Book

Author: John R. Searle.
Title: The Rediscovery of the Mind.
Publisher: MIT Press.
Place and Date of Publication: Cambridge, MA, 1992.

detailed record for print book result

Bibliographic Elements of an Article

Author: Searle, John R.
Title: "Insight and Error in Wittgenstein."
Journal information: Philosophy of the Social Sciences.  Volume 46, issue 6, page range  527-47.
Date: December 2016.

Look at the detailed record or on the article itself for the DOI. If there isn't one, use the name of the database.