Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

A Guide to Database and Catalog Searching: Find It @ NSULA Libraries!

How to access and search library databases and catalog

How It Works

Find It is the closest thing NSU Libraries has to a Google keyword search, though it only covers the library catalog and databases. It's most helpful for broad subjects. 

If you know you want peer-reviewed or scholarly articles, a more effective search tool is the database directories (linked from the main page); they're organized by subject category and alphabetically by title.

If you know the title of an item you want, or its author, use the advanced search feature and the pertinent field selections. for more focused results, consult the database listings by subject. For e-books, books, or other physical items from the library catalog, a better tool is the catalog itself.

The Results Screen

Each result in the list will include title, author, call number, and location information.Limiters (on the left of the result) can streamline the result list in several ways. Buttons to the right of the result link to the text, link, ILL, or sending yourself the record.

 

Official Video Directions for FindIt

Watch this official training video to learn how to use NSU Libraries' "FindIt" version of  SirsiDynix Enterprise.

Basic Access

Enter a search term in the FindIt@ search box on the main page.
When the results screen appears, select the Databases tab, or the "EBSCO Databases (EDS)" field in the "Everything" drop-down menu, if you only want journal articles.

Some records may not link to an item or a full text. In that case, request the item from InterLibrary Loan.