LibGuides: English and Cultural Studies: Southern American Literature

MLA Style

New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture, vol. 9: Literature by M. Thomas Inge; Charles Reagan Wilson, editor
Call Number: F209 N47 2006 Vol. 9 REF
ISBN: 9780807831908
Publication Date: 2008
In the second-floor reference stacks and online in EBSCO eBook Academic Collection database.
Greenwood Encyclopedia of American Regional Cultures: vol. 2, The South by Rebecca Mark and Robert Vaughan
Call Number: E169.1 G73 2004 REF
ISBN: 0313327343
Publication Date: 2004
In the reference stacks .
Southern Writers: A New Biographical Dictionary by Joseph M. Flora and Amber Vogel
Call Number: PS261 .S595 2006 REF
ISBN: 0807131237
Publication Date: 2006
In the second-floor reference stacks and online in EBSCO eBook Collection.
Contemporary Southern Writers by Roger Matuz
Call Number: PS261 .C569 1999 REF
ISBN: 1558623701
Publication Date: 1998
Individual articles are also available through Gale's Biography in Context database.
Inventing Southern Literature by Michael Kreyling
Call Number: PS261 .K7 1998 at Watson; also in EBSCO eBooks by clicking the title above.
ISBN: 9781578060450
Publication Date: 1998

MLA International Bibliography is the standard index, with some full-text, for scholarship in literature and language.

Literature eBooks from Salem Press includes Critical Insights on authors, themes, and authors, plus surveys, and contexts.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Broad, general periodical database that includes over 13,000 scholarly and popular journals. Many articles are full-text.
eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR - both multidisciplinary and discipline-specific collections .Areas such as Arts and Sciences, Business, Ecology and Botany, General Science, Language and Literature, Mathematics and Statistics, and Music.
Credo This link opens in a new window
This is a full text database that comprises of a searchable collection of over 150 online reference books from different publishers. It also includes a collection of art images. The reference books include encyclopaedias, dictionaries and thesauri covering many subject areas.