LibGuides: Nursing and Allied Health: Psychiatric Nursing

QuickLinks to CON-SAH Resources

Medical e-Books and Monographs

Advanced Practice Psychiatric Nursing by Kathleen R. Tusaie (Editor); Joyce J. Fitzpatrick (Editor)
Call Number: AVAILABLE ONLINE
ISBN: 9780826108708
Publication Date: 2012-07-01
Advanced Practice Psychiatric Nursing, Second Edition by Kathleen Tusaie (Editor); Joyce J. Fitzpatrick (Editor)
Call Number: AVAILABLE ONLINE
ISBN: 9780826132536
Publication Date: 2016-09-28
Challenging Ideas in Psychiatric Nursing by Liam Clarke
Call Number: AVAILABLE ONLINE:
ISBN: 9781134662739
Publication Date: 2003-09-01
Clinical Consult to Psychiatric Nursing for Advanced Practice by Jacqueline Rhoads; Patrick J. M. Murphy
Call Number: AVAILABLE ONLINE
ISBN: 9780826195951
Publication Date: 2014-06-01
Inpatient Psychiatric Nursing by Linda Damon (Editor); Joanne Matthews (Editor); Judy Sheehan (Editor); Lisa Uebelacker (Editor)
Call Number: AVAILABLE ONLINE
ISBN: 9780826109712
Publication Date: 2012-04-01
Mental Health Nursing by Christine Hallett (Series edited by); Anne Borsay (Editor); Pamela Dale (Editor); Jane Schultz (Series edited by)
Call Number: AVAILABLE ONLINE
ISBN: 9781784992156
Publication Date: 2015-07-01
Psychiatric-Mental Health Nursing by Jeffrey S. Jones; Joyce J. Fitzpatrick; Vickie L. Rogers
Call Number: AVAILABLE ONLINE
ISBN: 9780826131287
Publication Date: 2016-02-01
Psychiatric-Mental Health Nursing by Mertie L. Potter; Mary D. Moller
Call Number: RC440 .P67 2016 (Shreveport)
ISBN: 9780138015589
Publication Date: 2014-12-24
Psychiatric-Mental Health Nursing by Jeffrey et al Jones
Call Number: AVAILABLE ONLINE
ISBN: 9780826105639
Publication Date: 2012-03-01
Psychiatric-Mental Health Nursing: Sixth Edition by Videbeck, Sheila L.
Call Number: AVAILABLE ONLINE
ISBN: 9781469833200
Publication Date: 2014
Psychiatric Mental Health Nursing by Mary C. Townsend
Call Number: RC440 .T693 2015 (Shreveport)
ISBN: 9780803640924
Publication Date: 2014-08-20
Psychiatric Mental Health Nursing Success by Cathy Melfi Curtis; Audra Baker Fegley
Call Number: RC440 .C88 2017 (Leesville)
ISBN: 9780803660403
Publication Date: 2016-11-21
Psychiatric Nursing by Mary Ann Boyd
Call Number: RC440 .P749 2015 (Shreveport)
ISBN: 9780060000370
Publication Date: 2014-11-15
Psychiatric Nursing by Boyd
Call Number: RC440 .P749 2018 (Shreveport Campus)
ISBN: 9781451192438
Publication Date: 2017-11-01
Psychiatric Nursing by Mary C. Townsend
Call Number: RC440 .T69 2015
ISBN: 9780803642379
Publication Date: 2014-08-19
Psychiatric Nursing Care Plans by Judith M. Schultz; Sheila L. Videbeck
Call Number: AVAILABLE ONLINE
ISBN: 9781609136949
Publication Date: 2012-06-28
Psychiatric Nursing Made Incredibly Easy! by Gersch, Carolyn J.
Call Number: AVAILABLE ONLINE
ISBN: 9781469888491
Publication Date: 2016
Reflections on Community Psychiatric Nursing by Tony Gillam
Call Number: AVAILABLE ONLINE
ISBN: 9780203167274
Publication Date: 2003-09-02
The Rise of Mental Health Nursing by Geertje Boschma
Call Number: AVAILABLE ONLINE
ISBN: 9789053565018
Publication Date: 2003-02-15
RN Mental Health Nursing Edition 10. 0 by Assessment Technologies Institute
Call Number: RC440 .R443 2016 (Shreveport)
ISBN: 9781565335707
Publication Date: 2016-08-01
Scope and Standards of Psychiatric-Mental Health Nursing Practice by American Nurses Association Staff (Contribution by); American Psychiatric Nurses Association Staff (Contribution by); International Society of Psychiatric-Mental Health Nurses Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: Historical Nursing Collection: Shreveport
ISBN: 9781558101531
Publication Date: 2000-10-01
Standards of child and adolescent psychiatric and mental health nursing practice. by Council on Psychiatric and Mental Health Nursing (American Nurses Association)
Call Number: RJ502.3 .C68 1985 (Historical Nursing Collection)
ISBN: 9780948087868
Publication Date: RJ502.3 .C68 1985 (Historical Collection)
A Statement on the Scope and Standards of Psychiatric-Mental Health Clinical Nursing Practice by American Nurses Association Staff
Call Number: RC440 .S726 1994 (Historical Collection)
ISBN: 9781558100985
Publication Date: 1994-07-01
Varcarolis' Foundations of Psychiatric Mental Health Nursing by Margaret Jordan Halter; Elizabeth M. Varcarolis
Call Number: RC440 .F58 2014 (Natchitoches)
ISBN: 9781455753581
Publication Date: 2013-08-19
'Curing Queers' : mental nurses and their patients, 1935-1974 by Tommy Dickinson; Christine Hallett (Series edited by); Jane Schultz (Series edited by)
Call Number: AVAILABLE ONLINE
ISBN: 9781784990626
Publication Date: 2015-01-31

NLM F-03 Resource Descriptor Framework (RDF)

Medical Subject Headings for Mental Health

About:

Mental Disorders

http://id.nlm.nih.gov/mesh/D001523

Type:

MeSH TopicalDescriptor

Topical Descriptors indicate the subject of an indexed item such as a journal article. See D063926, 'Drug Hypersensitivity Syndrome', for an example.

Related to

allowableQualifier (MeSH Qualifier)

seeAlso (MeSH TopicalDescriptor)

Mentally Ill Persons

treeNumber (MeSH TreeNumber)

concept (MeSH Concept)

preferredConcept (MeSH Concept)

Mental Disorders

preferredTerm (MeSH Term)

T004427

"D001523" label

"Mental Disorders"

(MeSH AllowedDescriptorQualifierPair) hasDescriptor

(MeSH TopicalDescriptor) seeAlso

Mentally Ill Persons

(MeSH SCR Disease) mappedTo

(MeSH SCR Disease) preferredMappedTo

Renal Tubular Acidosis, Distal, With Nephrocalcinosis, Short Stature, Mental Retardation, And Distinctive Facies

Medical Subject Headings (MeSH)

Mental Disorders - MESH Search
A search of the MESH Subject Tree for the subject Mental Disorders (results)

Mental Disorders [F03]

Daily Med NLM DailyMed list over 105,000 drugs and provides trustworthy information about marketed drugs. DailyMed is the official provider of FDA label information (package inserts). This Web site provides a standard, comprehensive, up-to-date, look-up and download resource of medication content and labeling found in medication package inserts.
Drug Information Portal - NLM Quick access to quality drug information. Currently covers 80,000+ drugs. Show common drug names list.. Show generic name stems list.. Show list of resources searched..
Medline Plus Find information on health conditions, wellness issues, and more in easy-to-read language on MedlinePlus, the up-to-date, trusted health information site: Health Topics, Drugs, Herbs and Supplements, Videos and tools, Medical Encyclopedia...Patient Education Materials in English and 60 foreign languages.
Mental Health America (NMHA) Excellent array of mental health screening toold and recovery resources.
National Alliance on Mental Health (NAMI) NAMI, the National Alliance on Mental Illness, is the nation’s largest grassroots mental health organization dedicated to building better lives for the millions of Americans affected by mental illness. Today, NAMI is an association of hundreds of local affiliates, state organizations and volunteers who work in your community to raise awareness and provide support and education that was not previously available to those in need.
National Center for Complimentary & Integrative Health Learn about the Integrated Medicine, Find types of research training and career development awards with links to specific funding announcements. Includes institutional awards, fellowships, career development awards, and other opportunities.Find NCCIH grantee institutions that may offer opportunities for training researchers.
National Institute of Mental Health The National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) is the lead federal agency for research on mental disorders. Whether you want to find a treatment or participate in a study, NIMH has the information you need.
NIMH Investigations NIMH scientists conduct research ranging from studies into mechanisms of normal brain function, conducted at the behavioral, systems, cellular, and molecular levels, to clinical investigations into the diagnosis, treatment and prevention of mental illness. Learn about current mental health investigators and projects.
NIMH NeuroBioBank Learn more about the NIH NeuroBioBank and brain tissue donation. Learn how to request tissue from the NeuroBioBank or browse our inventory of available samples.Learn about the crucial need for brain donation and how your gift can advance human knowledge.
NIMH Research Publications by Topic Filter by disorders, populations, prevention and current research. Find brochures and fact sheets. Mental Illness Health Statistics, and Clinical Trials.
NIMH Research Domain Criteria RDoC Learn more about Research Domain Criteria Initiative (RDoC) a research framework that suppports new ways of studying mental disorders. RDoC is a research framework for new approaches to investigating mental disorders. It integrates many levels of information (from genomics to circuits to behavior and self-reports) in order to explore basic dimensions of functioning that span the full range of human behavior from normal to abnormal. RDoC is not meant to serve as a diagnostic guide, nor is it intended to replace current diagnostic systems. The goal is to understand the nature of mental health and illness in terms of varying degrees of dysfunctions in general psychological / biological systems.
NIMH Research Priorities The National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) is the Nation’s leader in research on mental disorders, supporting research to transform the understanding and treatment of mental illnesses. Below you can learn more about NIMH research areas, policies, resources and initiatives.Explore research areas including basic neuroscience, genetics, services and intervention, technology, and mental health disparities. Learn more about participant recruitment, data sharing, safety monitoring, rigor and reproducibility in research, and other NIH and NIMH policies. Find a variety of research resources including reagents, biobanks, tools, and programs that support mental health research.
Pillbox - NLM The Pillbox website was developed to help quickly identify medications by their appearance and ingredients, name, imprint, shape, color or active pharmaceutical ingredients.
SAMHSA Resources & Publications Find and download free publications, apps, and other resources on treatment, prevention, and recovery for mental and substance use disorders.
Sunbstance Abuse & Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) he Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) is the agency within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services that leads public health efforts to advance the behavioral health of the nation. SAMHSA's mission is to reduce the impact of substance abuse and mental illness on America's communities. Learn about the A to Z list of Programs, Campaigns, Initiatives, Technical Assistance Centers, or Resource Centers
Mental Health by the Numbers Millions of Americans are affected by mental health conditions every year. Here are some facts about the prevalence and impact of mental illness.

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM–5)

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM–5)

The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM–5) is the product of more than 10 years of effort by hundreds of international experts in all aspects of mental health. Their dedication and hard work have yielded an authoritative volume that defines and classifies mental disorders in order to improve diagnoses, treatment, and research.

Nursing and Allied Health: Psychiatric Nursing

NLM F-03 Resource Descriptor Framework (RDF)

Medical Subject Headings (MeSH)

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM–5)

Visit Our Libraries