Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nursing and Allied Health: Nursing Home Page

Online Learning
mesh

Mon-Thu 8 am-8 pm
Fri 8 am-noon
Closed Saturday and Sunday

Two Methods for Using Full Text Finder

 

Encountering a link that doesn't connect is somewhat of a headache*.  Sometimes, the publisher makes changes. The answer to obtaining your articles is the  Full Text FinderFull Text Finder is on the NSU Libraries Home page.  Full Text Finder that is located inside the purple box on the Library Home Page.

First Method:

  • Go to:  https://library.nsula.edu
  • Browse the Full Text Finder tool for Nursing & Allied Health journals.
  • Follow the Nursing & Allied Health.link.
  • Display the nursing and allied health journals that offer Full Text.
  • Alternately, if you know the journal title enter the journal name.
  • Try it out:  Click this image

 

Second Method:

  • Go to:  https://library.nsula.edu
  • Enter the JOURNAL NAME
  • Click on the ISSUE
  • Select the TITLE & PAGES
  • Print the article PDF file!
  • Report broken links to your Librarian

*Please provide the database name and full title of the article that does not link through to the Full Text. We will forward this to the Mr. Matthews at the main library.

Library Services

 

Training on  Nursing & Allied Health Databases: Online Webex Classes

Librarians offer information seminars customized to fit any information need. Examples of class offerings include am introduction orientation to the Nursing & Allied Health Library for new users, effective use of electronic resources, clinical point of care mobile technologies, citation management (Mendeley), systematic reviews management (RAYYAN) and Finding Peer Review Literature (CINAHL & Proquest Nursing & Allied Health), using systematic review databases (COCHRANE Library & Clinical Trials.Gov) and many other classes are offered continuously throughout the semester.

Research Assistance

NSULA Shreveport Library for the College of Nursing and Allied Health Sciences  (CONSAH) provides personal assistance for research support and information discovery, including advice on database selection, search strategy recommendations, verification of citations, location of current and historic information in all formats and citation management suggestions. The Medical Librarian will also do in-depth, systematic searches for individuals on request. The librarian gladly helps in the location of full-text electronic resources and advise on best practices for utilizing The entire electronic collections of Tulane University.  Contact us at (318) 677-3007 if you have problems with full-text access from off-campus or from a hospital clinical site.

The NSU Libraries Information Services is staffed by Reference Librarians from 8:00 am until 5:30 pm, Monday through Thursday. Virtual assistance is provided as soon as possible by email

Consultations by Request

Northwestern State University CONSAH Library offers consultations (consults) via Webex and in person.  Our Webex address is https://nsula.webex.com/meet/voebels.  Please make an appointment with your medical librarian to meet online and review your search strategy or learn the process of using a citation manager (Mendeley), a systematic review tool (Rayyan) or other software.

CONSAH Library Liaison Program

The CONSAH Liaison program positions the CONSAH Library as a premier  information resource for faculty, staff and students in nursing and allied health.  This establishes a clear channel of communication between the academic components, CONSAH programs, the Inforamtion  and librarians who provide information and technology resources can be established.

This 2-way communication serves to:

  • Determine the specific needs/wants of the departments through collaborative planning ensure that those needs are met and services customized
  • Promote library resources and services to educate users about our information access tools
  • Raise awareness of our computing and educational technology applications, and services
  • Help library users identify and access library and technology resources
  • Provide workshops on research tools or on topics of special interest specifically geared to the departmental faculty and students
  • Answer questions, resolve problems, and interpret library policy
  • Highlight the library as the "knowledge management center" for sustaining healthcare education, research and information delivery
  • Make information literacy and essential component of student learning and faculty development
  • Provide librarians as information consultants for departments
Assignments and Modules

 

A medical librarian is available to review instructor's assignments or assist in the creation of research or information literacy assignments. 

 

Nursing Interlibrary Loan Service (DOCLINE) is available for Nursing students and Allied Health students. 

Use tthe Nursing ILL service  to request articles, books  and monographs from our  network of health sciences libraries. 

Our free Interlibrary Loan service is available to faculty, staff, clinical students, and researchers of all Northwestern State University Nursing & Allied Health programs. 

Articles are supplied in electronic format (PDF) within several business days. Use the Nursing Interlibrary Loan link, include a PubMed ID number and fill in all requested fields.  Turnaround time is a few business days providing the request is received Monday - Thursday.  Request receive after 12:00 noon on Friday (close of business) are received into DOCLINE Monday morning. Tip:  Before submitting a Nursing ILL, Search the Full Text Finder by Journal Name. NSULA does not have a link resolver..

Books may take longer, as they are usually shipped via mail or UPS. The NSU CONSAH Library provide services to the health academic communities. Interlibrary Loan services for all other academic programs are provided by the Natchitoches Library ILL.  Books obtained through Interlibrary Loan must be returned to CONSAH Shreveport Health Sciences Library before the due date. They must be mailed back to the main library and then forwarded to the lending libary.

Scan materials using the free BookEye scanner and flashdrive  

NSULA Thesis, dissertations and special projects are maintained in the CONSAH Library and cannot be removed from the library.  The structure of documents can be scanned as an example. Prior to beginning your systematic review or special project, make an appointment with the CONSAH Librarian. Students and faculty may also use the BookEye Scanner to copy identification  documents required and vaccination records required by hospitals. Lastly, the BookEye scanner may be used to copy a chapter of a book on reserve. You may not scan an entire book.  This is considered copyright infringement.

Print free journal articles from library computers

Use computers with an orange flag to print database articles.  These prints do not count against your student print credit allocation of 1000 pages.

Prepare reports & assignments in the Learning Resources Center

The Shreveport Learning Resource Center is equipped with a flat screen, small conference table and 18 desktop computers. Using WIFI and your laptop, you may project assignments to a group or participate in a CEU video conference.  This premium is offered on a space available basis and must be reserved in advance. Email Sandra Rufty to reserve the LRC.

Project work, group work, video conference feed, sharing presentations or professional CEU online training

The Shreveport CONSAH Library has two (2) flat screen monitors that may be reserved in advance.  Otherwise, the rooms may be used for group work on a first -come basis.  No food is allowed int he video-conferencing areas or near computers.  Drink containers must be covered. Contact Sandra Rufty to reserve.

Student tutors are available by appointment

When student tutors are available, their subject specialty and email is posted on the CONSAH Library adjacent to the documentation area.  This is a volunteer role and changes each semester.

Document review of 10 pages or less is available through the Academic Success Center, Natchitoches Campus

Short documents or papers are reviewed for proper English usage by student reviewers within the Academic Success Center at the Nachitoches Campus.  The turn-around for student document review is 48-72 hours.  Materials are reviewed for structure, but not reviewed for content.  Email your paper to Email: academicsuccess@nsula.edu.  Secondly, it is important to follow your email with a phone call during business hours.:  Phone: 318-357-6615 or 318 357-4291

Utilize the document preparation area to stay organized

The Shreveport CONSAH Library offers a document preparation area to help you organize your power point prints and other class materials.  Equipment included:  Heavy duty hole punches, heavy duty staplers, standard staplers, and a paper-cutter. 

Each campus offers proctor services based on their staffing

Request a proctor at the Shreveport Campus using the Shreveport Testing Proctor Request Form. Shreveport Testing Center is open between 8:30 and 7:00 p.m. Monday through Thursday.  "We help individuals achieve their goals by providing the most advanced testing options in a quiet and secure environment," In Shreveport, we offer the first exam beginning at 8:30 p.m. and sit the last examinee for testing at 5:15 p.m. You will find details by following the above link. Request a proctor at Natchitoches Campus here. For more information on the NSU Testing Center, call (318) 357-5246 or email at testing@nsula.edu. Request a proctor at the Alexandria Campus England Airpark Testing Center here.

 

Visit Our Libraries

Northwestern State University of Louisiana Libraries    |   Watson Memorial Library   |  913 University Pkwy    | Natchitoches LA 71457
 

  |    Shreveport Education Center Library   |Eugene P. Watson Memorial Library    |    NSU Leesville Library 

   |  Prince Music Media Library