Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nursing and Allied Health: Training Videos & Search Examples

Online Learning
mesh
Class Trainings

 

7 Live trainings per week are regularly scheduled by the Sherri Voebel, MLIS, Nursing & Allied Health Librarian,  Click on the Training pull down above and register for a live training.  

Undergraduate & Graduate Students
Monday - Wednesday 2:00 p.m.-  4:00 p.m. via Webex SignupGenius Link
Monday - Wednesday 5:30 p.m. - 7:30 p.m. via Webex SignUpGenius Link
Graduate Students Only
Thursday 2:00 p.m. - 4:00 p.m. via Webex SignUpGenius Link
Thursday 5:30 p.m. - 7:30 p.m. via Webex SignUpGenius Link
Consultations & One on One Classes
Monday - Thursday Between 8:00 a.m. - 5:30 p.m. Arrange Directly With The Librarian
CINAHL Complete With Full Text

CINAHL with Full Text provides full text for the top nursing and allied health literature available and covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, health sciences, alternative  medicine, complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.

Mendeley Citation Mangement Desktop App

Mendeley Desktop is a Citation Management tool that will save you time and energy.  Unlike other free citation management tools available  on the internet, this tool is highly accurate.  You will download and install Mendeley Desktop, Web Importer and MS Word Plug In to have complete functionality.  Additionally, you can set up an alert to find similar articles. This will save you time when working on your Systematic Review or Special Project.

Management Analysis Tools for Systematic Reviews: Systematic review automation software packages

"The purpose of a systematic review is to sum up the best available research on a specific question. This is done by synthesizing the results of several studies. A systematic review uses transparent procedures to find, evaluate and synthesize the results of relevant research." The most popular Systematic Review apps are listed below:

Recommended reading:  Comprehensive Systematic Review for Advanced Practice Nursing, edited by Cheryl Holly, EdD, RN, Susan Salmond, EdD, RN, FAAN, Maria Saimbert, PharmD, MLIS, MSN, RN  Google Books:

Rayyan:  Quick Start Guide

Other Systematic Review Management Tools:

Medline Database

MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) premier bibliographic database that contains more than 27 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration in biomedicine.  A distinctive feature of MEDLINE is that the records are indexed with NLM Medical Subject Headings (MeSH). MEDLINE is the primary component of PubMed, a literature database developed and maintained by the NLM National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). MEDLINE is the online counterpart to the MEDical Literature Analysis and Retrieval System (MEDLARS) that originated in 1964 (see MEDLINE history). Time coverage:

For details about pre-1966 citations see OLDMEDLINE Data.

OVID Database

For over 20 years, Ovid been a vital part of global healthcare research, learning and practice. With over 6 million images, videos, and podcasts as well as content from more than 120 premier publishing partners, Ovid helps librarians, clinicians, researchers, students, instructors and other healthcare professionals find the information they need to make critical decisions that improve patient care, enhance ongoing research, and fuel new discoveries.

ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source (Database)

ProQuest’s Nursing & Allied Health Premium is a new solution designed to support the teaching, learning, and research needs of nursing and allied health students and educators. This new offering combines the Nursing & Allied Health Database and Alexander Street's Nursing Education in Video into an ever-growing collection within an immersive, discipline-specific experience on the ProQuest Platform. Over 700 scholarly journals in ongoing full text
360 full-length clinical skills videos.

PubMed (Database)

PubMed is a free resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health–both globally and personally. The PubMed database contains more than 30 million citations and abstracts of biomedical literature. Both Pubmed and CINAHL are built on a subject thesaurus:  the MeSH Tree or CINAHL Tree.

RAYYAN.AI Systematic Review Tool Quick Start Guide

Helping systematic review authors quickly, easily and enjoyably create reviews, collaborate, maintain over time and get suggestions for article inclusion. Working on a systematic review? Rayyan is a free web app that can help with the screening/selecting studies process. This week's introductory workshop will introduce Rayyan, demonstrate a sample workflow and discuss its strengths and weaknesses. 

SAGE Journals

Browse a list of journals by selecting a discipline and/or subject. Use the A-Z option to filter to journals beginning with that letter. You can also add journals to your favorites or set up email alerts for new content by selecting the journal tick box and clicking the corresponding button. Alternatively, discover the latest Nursing & Allied Health content by exploring the Life & Biomedical Science Discipline Hub.

Science Direct (Elsevier)

Keep up to date with health and medical developments to stimulate research and improve patient care. Search our books and journals covering education, reference information, decision support and more.    Health Sciences: Nursing and Health Professions Pharmacology, Toxicology and Pharmaceutical Science Veterinary Science and Veterinary Medicine  Life Sciences: Biochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology  Immunology and Microbiology  Neuroscience 

UpToDate...Searching the Index

NSULA does not offer full text access in UpToDate.  You can search the UpToDate contents and make an ILL request through Nursing  Interlibrary Loan (ILL).  Use the Nursing Interlibrary Loan Link to request articles and allow 2-3 business days for e-Delivery. Journals not published in the USA may not be available. 
Book Chapters may not be requested through DOCLINE ILL, but may be requested through NSULA ILL Natchitoches. To request a book, set up a personal NSU ILLIAD account here.

WILEY Journals

Wiley Online Library maintains high standard and rigorous peer review.  Their quality and reputation is fully compliant with open access mandates.  "Open Access" articles that are published under Creative Commons Attribution (CC BY) Licensing are so noted and will offer Free Full Text.

Hot Topics & Sample Searches:

Visit Our Libraries

Northwestern State University of Louisiana Libraries    |   Watson Memorial Library   |  913 University Pkwy    | Natchitoches LA 71457
 

  |    Shreveport Education Center Library   |Eugene P. Watson Memorial Library    |    NSU Leesville Library 

   |  Prince Music Media Library