LibGuides: Nursing and Allied Health: Nursing Resources

Overview

Welcome to the Nursing Resources guide! Here you will find many nursing-centric resources, including databases, e-books, and e-journals. In addition, this guide contains resources pertaining to literature searching, Evidence Based Practice, patient education, and drugs and medications.

Please note that NSU staff and students can access NSU Libraries resources via the library's homepage .

For access to NSU Libraries resources outside the network, please refer to our guide.NSU Libraries Guide

NSU Libraries Locations

Find a strong collection of resources in consumer health, clinical medicine and nursing. The main clinical library is located on the first floor of the Shreveport Campus Building B, Room 101. The library is accessible from

Staffed hours:

8:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m. Monday - Thursday
8:00 a.m. - noon on Friday.

Librarians are available via email and phne during standard business hours.

Phone:

318.677.3007 (main number)
318.677.3013 (medical librarian)

Email: Sherri Voebel or Sandra Rufty

NSU Library Locations

Finding Information - Videos and Tutorials

Literature Searching LibGuide
More information and video tutorials on literature searching, choosing a database, filtering your results, and citing in APA Style.
PubMed for Nurses
- This link opens in a new window
Refresh your PubMed search skills by trying out the "PubMed for Nurses Tutorial." The tutorial is designed specifically for nurses and consists of short videos, quizzes and activities. In less than 30 minutes learn how to set up a search in PubMed, use filters, find clinically-relevant articles and use MyNCBI to save searches and citations.
Nursing Journals Filter in PubMed
- This link opens in a new window
In this video, learn how to set up a Nursing Journals filter in PubMed so that you can quickly limit your search results to articles that come from nursing journals. 1:26

Connect from Off Campus to NSU Libraries

NSU Libraries' comprehensive collection of resources is available anytime, anywhere and on any device. To access our resources from off campus, simply click on any resource link on the library's website.

To request off-campus access to books, journals and databases, use your NSU login information. Nursing and allied health nurses and students are automatically registered for off-campus access each semester when the Banner upload is complete.

Library Services

We offer:

Quality medical literature databases available 24 / 7
Research consultations to Nursing and Allied Health students and faculty
Webex online workshops and in-person training on database searching & post-processing
Training on web applications such as Rayyan.AI, SciTe AI, Perrla, CoPilot AI, Mendeley Desktop and Mendeley Citation Manager
Support for your Project in Lieu of Thesis (PILT), DNP Special Project, or MAH Special Project
Study rooms for individuals or small student groups are available on a first-come basis
Two media rooms have laptop connections and a large flat projection screen
The Learning Resource Center may be reserved by faculty for testing

Literature Searches - Before you start your next project, work with a librarian to discover what is already known on the topic.

Citation Management Tools - Get assistance using citation managers like Mendeley Desktop

Interlibrary Loan Service : - Use the NSU Interlibrary Loan service to request copies of books, journal articles, conference proceedings and other items that aren't immediately accessible to you online. If we don't have the requested item in our collection, we'll do our best to find it for you through interlibrary loan (ILL).

Borrowing Materials - Use your student ID or Louisiana Driver's License and student ID number at any of the NSU Libraries locations to check out print books from our collection. Login to EBSCO Full Text eBooks collection to read full text books online or download chapters within eBooks.