Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nursing and Allied Health: Cite, save and share

Online Learning
mesh
Using the Clipboard

 

The Clipboard provides a place to collect up to 500 items from one or more searches. Items saved to the Clipboard will expire after 8 hours of inactivity.

 

Adding items to the clipboard:

 

  1. Use the check boxes to select items from your search results. To save all results (up to a maximum of 500), do not tick any check boxes.
  2. Use the Send to button and choose Clipboard.
  3. Selected items will be added to the Clipboard.
    • If no items were selected, a drop-down menu of options will display where you may add selected items, all results on the page, or all results (up to a maximum limit of 500 citations) to the Clipboard.
    • An individual item can also be added to the Clipboard from its abstract page.
  4. To view your selections, click the Clipboard link under the Search bar. This link will only appear after one or more items have been added to the Clipboard; the link is not present when the Clipboard is empty.
Deleting items from the clipboard:

 

  • On the Clipboard page, click "Remove from Clipboard" below each item to delete the item from the Clipboard.
  • Select one or more items using the check boxes next to each item, then click "Remove selected items."
  • To delete all items from the Clipboard, click "Remove all."

 

More information about the clipboard:

 

  • Citations added to the Clipboard are marked with the message "Item in Clipboard" in search results.
  • The maximum number of items that can be sent to the Clipboard is 500. If you select Clipboard from send to without selecting citations, PubMed will add all (up to 500 citations) of your search results to the Clipboard.
  • The Clipboard will not add a citation that is currently in the Clipboard; it will not create duplicate entries.
  • Your web browser must accept cookies to use the Clipboard.
  • Citations in the Clipboard are represented by the search number #0, which may be used in Boolean search statements. For example, to limit the citations you have collected in the Clipboard to English language articles, use the following search: #0 AND english [la]. This does not affect or replace the Clipboard contents.

Save citations indefinitely using My NCBI Collections

Save citations indefinitely using My NCBI Collections

 

Search results can be saved in My NCBI using the Collections feature. There is no limit to the number of collections you may store in My NCBI. In addition, collections can be made public to share with others.

To save results to a new collection:

  1. Sign into My NCBI. Run a search in PubMed.
  2. Use the check boxes to select items from your search results or Clipboard. To save all results (up to a maximum of 1,000), do not tick any check boxes.
  3. Use the Send to button and choose Collections.
  4. Selected items will be added to a Collection.
    • If no items were selected, a drop-down menu of options will display where you may add selected items, all results on the page, or all results (up to a maximum limit of 1,000 citations) to a Collection.
    • An individual item can also be added to a Collection from its abstract page.
  5. Choose Create a new collection.
  6. Name your collection using a short, meaningful title. The name must be less than 100 characters. Identical names for different Collections are allowed and may cause confusion.
  7. Click Add to finish.

As you continue to build collections, you may want to add new items to an existing collection. To add search results to an existing collection:

  1. Follow steps 1 - 4 above. Add to an existing collection will be the default selection.
  2. Use the pull-down menu to choose a collection.
  3. Click Add to finish.

For more information on viewing, sorting, editing, merging, sharing, and deleting collections, see Collections in My NCBI Help.

Save citations as a text file

 

Use the Save button to download citations to a text file.

 

  1. Use the check boxes to select citations from your search results or Clipboard. You may move to other pages to continue your selections. If you do not make any selections, you can choose to save “All results on this page” or “All results” from the Save menu.
  2. Click Save and choose a Selection and Format from the menu that appears.
    • Selection: The citations you would like to save.
      • Selection: The number of selected items will be shown, for example: Selection (87).
      • All results on this page
      • All results (up to a maximum of 10,000 citations)
    • Format: Summary (text), PubMed, PMID list, Abstract (text), or CSV
  3. Click Create file.
  4. Your web browser will prompt you to save the file on your computer.

 

More information about saving citations to a file:

 

  • Saving a large set of results may take several minutes.
  • To save citations in HTML format, use the "Save" or "Save as" function of your browser and change the file extension to html. When saving as HTML, only those citations displayed on the page will be saved; therefore, consider showing more results.

Visit Our Libraries

Northwestern State University of Louisiana Libraries    |   Watson Memorial Library   |  913 University Pkwy    | Natchitoches LA 71457
 

  |    Shreveport Education Center Library   |Eugene P. Watson Memorial Library    |    NSU Leesville Library 

   |  Prince Music Media Library