Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nursing and Allied Health: EBSCO eBooks: Writing About Nursing and Allied Health

Online Learning

Welcome to the NSU CON-SAH Library

mesh

Writing articles about your research: Making the most of evidence

The Intersection

Written for the ACRL Framework and Information Literacy Competency Standards for Nursing, The Intersection : Where Evidence Based Nursing and Information Literacy Meet, speaks to the information needs of nurses, nurse educators and librarians who support nursing programs in the language of nursing. In order to find the best evidence from studies, students and practicing nurses must be proficient in the entire range of information literacy skills.

Anatomy of Writing for Publication for Nurses

Anatomy of Writing for Publication for Nurses, Third Edition, is a practical and useful guide for nurses who need to bridge the gap from incomplete sentences to a published manuscript. Cynthia Saver removes the fear and confusion most nurses have about the writing and publishing process: 25 of nursing's top writing experts and decision makers share important insights to help you increase the likelihood that your manuscript gets accepted for publication.

APA Guidelines

Rules of punctuation, reference citation, structure and format for these commonly used guidelines. Different guidelines will be used depending on the subject area or the professor or teacher. Having a quick reference handy can speed the writing and editing process allowing the writer to focus on the quality of the paper rather than the structure. Suggested uses: o Students – Handy reference while writing papers, collect the set of guides you need for your classes to easily switch between styles o Professors/Teachers – Keep handy while writing for academic journals in your subject area

The Concise APA Handbook

The Concise APA Handbook: APA 7th Edition, explains explain the basics of APA in simple, easy-to-understand language for non-native speakers of English, who are often unfamiliar with using references and formatting an essay in a particular method. In order to offer English Learner student writers a source of information that is appropriate for their level, and is cost-effective, this updated APA 7th edition guidebook provides students with important information in clear, concise, user-friendly language, as well as to offer practical examples that will help them grasp the concept of secondary research writing.

The Concise APA Handbook

The authors have written this handbook to provide students with important information in clear, concise, user-friendly language, as well as to offer practical examples that will help them grasp the concept of secondary research writing. Much of the published materials present the nitpicky details of APA in very technical terms that are not easy to understand. This handbook presents the same information in simplified terms with images and step-by-step instructions in ways that will make sense to both undergraduate and graduate student writers. Additionally, student writers often struggle with understanding the concept of plagiarism, as well as how to find sources, evaluate the appropriateness of sources, and use sources in effective ways (e.g., how to integrate quotes, when to paraphrase, among others). This book provides this information in a concise and easy-to-understand format.

Conducting the DNP Project

Conducting the DNP Project : Practical Steps When the Proposal Is Complete provides insights allowing you to you move from proposal phase to conduct and complete your project. Provides practical steps to implement and complete the project and will help DNP students to systematically transition from plan to action.

DNP Capstone Projects

DNP Capstone Projects : Exemplars of Excellence in Practice bridges the DNP essentials with the evidence-based practice framework and illustrates how the evidence is then translated into clinical practice. Addresses all program, administrative, policy, and clinical issues that DNP students may encounter during the capstone process. The book examines a variety of capstone projects from across the U.S.--quality improvement projects, strategic plans, advocacy, clinical case narratives, and other innovations--that demonstrate efficacy in clinical nursing practice outcomes and positive impact upon the health care environment.

The DNP Project Workbook

The Dnp Project Workbook streamlines the DNP Project into clear, concrete, and manageable stepsAuthored by nurse educators with an in-depth understanding of the challenges of the DNP Project, this text provides sequential, guided activities designed to jump-start and project students forward through the DNP Project process.

Fast Facts for Writing the Dnp Project

Fast Facts for Writing the DNP Project : Effective Structure, Content, and Presentation will help nursing students develop a high-quality, well-organized DNP project paper by using the time-tested, proven IMRaD (Introduction, Methods, Results, and Discussion) format—the gold standard for scientific writing in health care. Far beyond the simple outlines and rubrics usually offered to DNP students, this book provides guidance on how to write a DNP Project that presents scholarly work in an effective way.

Pain-Free Writing for Nurses

Pain-Free Writing for Nurses is an effective primer on writing and will improve your scholarly contributions to the nursing literature. Improve your writing, increase your output, and help you address the stress involved in creating meaningful, professional content. Provides: Strategies to deal with the anxiety and procrastination associated with writing. Rationales for writing in today's academic and professional nursing environment. Basic structures for scholarly writing. How to find a topic. How to develop and use a manuscript outline to save time.

Writing for Publication in Nursing

Writing for Publication in Nursing is a Doody's Core Title. Provides helpful tips for all levels of writing and is a comprehensive, solid reference for any nurse who plans to write for publication. The book describes how to select an appropriate journal and gear the writing for the intended audience, submit a manuscript, and respond to reviewers. It provides strategies for searching bibliographic databases, analyzing and synthesizing the literature, and writing a literature review. Information is included on developing manuscripts from theses and dissertations, writing a paper with multiple authors, and when and how to include tables or figures.

Writing for Publication in Nursing

Designated a Doody's Core Title. Writing for Publication in Nursing, Fourth Edition, is a great reference for authors at all levels.will surely serve as a resource for experienced authors. Doody's Medical Reviews rates this in-depth resource at five stars. Writing for nurses—clinicians, graduate students, researchers, and faculty — guides users through the entire process of writing evidence-based research papers and journal articles, disseminating clinical project findings and innovations, and preparing manuscripts for publication. The completely updated fourth edition expands the content on conducting and writing systematic, integrative, and literature reviews; disseminating evidence and writing papers on clinical topics; and reporting quality-improvement studies.

Writing Your Nursing Portfolio: a Step-By-step Guide

Writing Your Nursing Portfolio: A Step-by-step Guide acknowledges the complexity involved in learning from practice, and recording that learning in a meaningful way. Unlike many 'how - to - do 'approaches to portfolio compilation, the book respectfully guides the reader through essential elements to be considered if a portfolio is to be more than a depository of paper, yet avoids prescription in acknowledging the individual nature of the portfolio and its necessity to reflect the nurse's own journey through their career.'

Writing articles, papers, PILTS and thesis

Using Medical Vocabulary -- MeSH

 

PubMed is organized by subject headings.  These subject headings are called MeSH and are attached to every article, book and study published in medical journals and in medical and nursing databases

Medical subject headings are a controlled vocabulary used to index scholarly journals in nursing and allied health and are easy to use.. Knowing and using the MESH terms increase the accuracy and focus of a search.

There are several  ways to check your search terms to see if they are in the MESH index.  One method is called the MeSH on DemandAnother way to verify your search terms is using the CINAHL Index.

 

Creating a P-I-C-O-T Chart

 

The first stage of any evidence based nursing practice process is formulating an answerable question. 

This forms the foundation for quality searching.  A well-formulated search will facilitate the search for evidence and will assist you in determining whether the evidence is relevant to your question.

Link: APA Citation Guidelines and Videos

 

APA format. is the preferred citation style for Nursing and Psychology.  These 14 resource pages include examples link directly to the APA website and videos.

Building a Summary Table or Synthesis Matrix

 

Building a summary table or synthesis matrix is a good way to compare and keep track of the main ideas within journal articles.  There are two basic methods.  I recommend the Johns Hopkins synthesis matrix for nursing or the NC State Synthesis Matrix.

A summary table is also called a synthesis matrix. A summary table helps you record the main points of each source and document how sources relate to each other. After summarizing and evaluating your sources, arrange them in a matrix to help you see how they relate to each other, and apply to each of your themes or variables.

Link: Journal Article Reporting Standards (JARS)

 

APA Style Journal Article Reporting Standards (APA Style JARS) are a set of guidelines designed for journal authors, reviewers, and editors to enhance scientific rigor in peer-reviewed journal articles. Educators and students can use APA Style JARS as teaching and learning tools for conducting high quality research and determining what information to report in scholarly papers.

JARS InfoGraphic

This page provides supplemental information on the ethic of transparency in APA Style JARS. This text is meant to supplement Chapter 3 of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition.

 

Thank you for visiting our Libraries!

Visit Our Libraries

Northwestern State University of Louisiana Libraries    |   Watson Memorial Library   |  913 University Pkwy    | Natchitoches LA 71457
 

  |    Shreveport Education Center Library   |Eugene P. Watson Memorial Library    |    NSU Leesville Library 

   |  Prince Music Media Library