Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nursing and Allied Health: EBSCO eBooks Anesthesia

Online Learning

Welcome to the NSU CON-SAH Library

mesh

Anesthesia Gallery of Books

Advances in Medicine and Biology

Advances in Medicine and Biology: Specific to Anesthesiology: Chapter Three reviews the medical uses, potential complications and advances in spinal anesthesia for ambulatory surgery. Chapter Four evaluates the effects of low dose spinal anesthesia on vital signs of patients for Cesarean Section (CS) and fracture repair. Chapter Five discusses Horner's syndrome after spinal and epidural anesthesia. Chapter Six studies the chrono-biology and electro-physiology of the rat heart under pentobarbital anesthesia.

Anatomical Foundations of Regional Anesthesia and Acute Pain Medicine

This book is essential for all medical graduates and training anesthesiologists seeking to understand the basics and detailed nuances of nerve anatomy and regional anesthesia.The textbook features detailed information on nerve sono-anatomy. This textbook is written and designed to convey practical working knowledge of the macro-, micro-, sono-, and functional anatomy required for regional anesthesia and acute pain medicine in an accessible manner through the use of detailed illustrations, (anatomical figures, diagrams and tables), with simplified legends and videos that allow readers to understand concepts such as percutaneuous nerve mapping and nerve blockade access in a dynamic manner. The extensive reference lists adequately complement the knowledge provided in the text.

Anesthesia: a Topical Update - Thoracic, Cardiac, Neuro, ICU, and Interesting Cases

The book serves as a handbook for advanced anesthesia professionals and a textbook for medical students and includes updated information about major systems for anesthesia in patients with concomitant diseases. The chapters are written by eminent clinicians who are also outstanding teachers in their respective anesthesia training programs. Topics covered in this volume include: thoracic anesthesia, cardiac anesthesia, anesthesia in the ENT patient, neuroanesthesia, intensive care / ICU medicine, medical ethics, and interesting cases.

Anesthesia: Essential Clinical Updates for Practitioners - Regional, Ultrasound, Coagulation, Obstetrics and Pediatrics

This book provides a quick update on key aspects of current anesthesia practice. Book chapters are written in a concise manner to enable readers (anesthesia providers and medical students) to quickly refresh their knowledge, and understand the essential points about key topics. The chapters are written by eminent clinicians who are also outstanding teachers in their respective anesthesia training programs. Topics covered in this volume include: trauma, trauma anesthesia, regional anesthesia, upper extremity blocks, lower extremity blocks, ultrasound, the use of ultrasound for blocks and vascular access, coagulation, hemostasis, transfusion, anticoagulants and their reversal, issues in pediatric anesthesia, and pediatric trauma, as well as obstetrical anesthesia. The book serves as a handbook for advanced anesthesia professionals and a textbook for medical students.

Anesthesia Considerations for the Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeon

The purpose of this book is to strengthen the margin of safety of office-based anesthesia administration by helping practitioners determine whether the patients they treat are good candidates for office-based anesthesia. This book is organized into three sections. The first section provides a review of the principles of anesthesia, including the pharmacology of anesthetic agents, local anesthesia, patient monitoring, preoperative evaluation, the airway, and management of emergencies and complications. The major organ systems of the body are reviewed in section two, and the most common comorbid conditions that affect these systems are described in terms of their pathophysiology, diagnosis, management, and anesthesia-related considerations. Section three reviews patient groups that warrant special consideration in the administration of office-based anesthesia, such as geriatric, pediatric, pregnant, and obese patients.

Anesthesia for Genetic, Metabolic, and Dysmorphic Syndromes of Childhood

Presents the anesthetic implications of genetic, metabolic, and dysmorphic pediatric disorders in a uniform format that moves through common and uncommon manifestations in the major anatomic areas and concludes with implications for the anesthetists faced with such a case. This unique format is useful for quick look-up of information that is otherwise esoteric and difficult to find. Presented in full color.

Anesthesia for Non-Anesthesiologists

Anesthesia for Non-Anesthesiologists has chapters written by a variety of anesthesiologists and sub-specialty clinicians at a major teaching hospital, and edited by experienced academic physicians, the target audience for this work includes physicians, medical residents, and students. Answers many of the basic questions: Why is NPO important? Why does the patient need to see a cardiologist pre-operatively? Why would the patient benefit from using Drug A vs Drug B? These questions come up not only in the operating room, but on the obstetrical floor, in the endoscopy suite, in the critical care units and elsewhere.

The Anesthesia Technologist's Manual

This unique manual is an ideal resource for anesthesia technicians and technologists and those studying for certification (CerATT) in the field. It offers well-illustrated, comprehensive coverage of every aspect of day-to-day practice and workflow, with sections on Anatomy, Physiology, and Pharmacology; Anesthesia Practice; Anesthesia Equipment and Technology; Emergencies, and more. From explanations of who's who in the operating room to detailed, step-by-step instructions on equipment maintenance, this practical manual ensures that readers will have current, complete information on the core knowledge they need to know in anesthesia technology.

Atlas of Peripheral Regional Anesthesia

The Atlas of Peripheral Regional Anesthesia: Anatomy and Techniques, Third Edition, is an invaluable resource for all anesthesiologists, orthopedists, and pain management physicians involved in the administration of regional anesthesia. It is enhanced with over 700 full-color illustrations as well as an extensive selection of videos on Thieme's Media Center. Key Features of the Third Edition: More than 250 new and updated figures, anatomical illustrations, and cadaver dissection photos which demonstrate the techniques New section describing the general aspects of ultrasound imaging in performing peripheral nerve blocks. New section on pediatric regional anesthesia.

Cardiothoracic Anesthesia

Hensley's Practical Approach to Cardiothoracic Anesthesia is ideal for fellows and residents as well as practicing anesthesiologists. The book is concisely written and readily accessible, with a scope that combines the depth of a reference book with the no-nonsense guidance of a clinically-oriented handbook. New editors, new content, and new access to procedural videos highlight this substantially revised edition.

Case Discussion on Anesthesiology

Case Discussion on ANESTHESIOLOGY provides immense theoretical and clinical knowledge about various medical problems and surgical procedures. The contents of this book are in the form of question answer on different issues in patients commonly presented as long cases. Section 1 presents long cases of conditions like pregnant woman posted for Cesarean section, mitral stenosis patient posted for valve replacement, diabetic woman posted for total abdominal hysterectomy, kidney transplanted patient put for non-transplant surgery, laparoscopic cholecystectomy, repair of cleft lip, scoliosis, etc. Section 2 presents short cases on cystic hygroma, tracheostomy, TOF with shunt, inguinal hernia, congenital talipes equinovarus, temporomandibular joint ankylosis, patent ductus arteriosus, intercostal drain, hydrocephalus, meningomyelocele, cataract, strabismus, diabetic foot complications, and upper body burns.

Chemistry and Physics for Nurse Anesthesia

a focus on chemistry and physics content that is directly relevant to the practice of anesthesia, this text delivers the breadth of scientific information required for the combined chemistry and physics course for nurse anesthesia students. step-by-step solutions to problems, and a Solutions Manual demonstrating a unique method for solving chemistry and physics problems and explaining how to use a calculator. The addition of a third co-author--a practicing nurse anesthetist—provides additional clinical relevance.

Clinical Anesthesia Procedures of the Massachusetts General Hospital

Clinical Anesthesia Procedures of the Massachusetts General Hospital has been relied on for over 30 years by practicing anesthesiologists and residents as well as nurse anesthetists. It offers you current, comprehensive, concise, consistent, and clinically relevant guidelines on all facets of anesthesia, peri-operative care, critical care, and pain management from a host of seasoned experts.

Clinical Synopsis of COVID 19

Clinical Synopsis of COVID-19 : Evolving and Challenging: Anesthesia Specific Chapters: Chapter 6: Anesthetic Considerations for Patients with Corona Virus Disease: Preoperative Evaluation. Operating Room Organization and Self-Protection. Airway Management. General Anesthesia. Regional Anesthesia. Fluid Management and Associated Therapy. Postoperative Management.

CPT Coding Essentials for Anesthesiology and Pain Management 2020

Optimized for medical necessity and reimbursement understanding, this all-in-one resource focuses on the most important CPT® and HCPCS codes for anesthesiology and pain management, plus medicine and ancillary services codes chosen by experts who have taken into consideration utilization, denial risk and complexity.CPT® Coding Essentials optimizes both CPT® and ICD-10 code selection with helpful CPT®-to-ICD-10-CM crosswalks and detailed explanations of anatomy, physiology and documentation. Other than the AMA CPT® Professional Edition codebook, this is the only book in the market with verbatim CPT®-panel–approved guidelines and parenthetical information specific to anesthesiology and pain management.

Current and Future Developments in Surgery Volume 1: Oesophago-Gastric Surgery

Current and Future Developments in Surgery Volume 1: Oesophago-gastric Surgery is a reference manual which addresses the core knowledge needs of surgical trainees in oesophago-gastric surgery as well as established consultants in oesophago-gastric surgery and other specialties. The book features a practical and user-friendly format for the benefit of undergraduate and professional readers. The editors have carefully included information that aligns with gastroenterology specialization curricula. Chapters in the first part cover all introductory topics about oesophagal and gastric surgery including anaesthesia, perioperative care, nutrition and physiology.
Specific Anesthesia Sections: Anaesthetic techniques 1, 14, 18 Anaesthetist 3, 5, 11, 18, 20 Analgesia 1, 3, 17, 35, 40, 43, 44, 45, 63, 141, 143 adequate 43, 44, 45, 63 systemic patient-controlled 40

APA 7th Edition (American Psychological Assoc.) Shimi, S. M. (2018). Current and Future Developments in Surgery Volume 1: Oesophago-gastric Surgery. Bentham Science Publishers Ltd.

Drugs in Anaesthesia and Intensive Care

Drugs in Anaesthesia and Intensive Care, fifth edition, is an essential reference text details drugs in anaesthesia and intensive care in an A-Z format. The book describes the pharmacokinetics and pharmaco dynamics of all the drugs commonly used by anaesthetists. The A-Z organization allows rapid access to specific information on the properties and characteristics of almost 200 drugs. New diagrams of particular drug structures and comparison tables aid comparison of differences within a drug class for exam revision. Improved navigation in the index enables prompt discoverability of information.

Fundamental Topics in Plastic Surgery

Relevant Anesthesia Sections: Anesthesia 408. See Local anesthetics (LAs) – infiltrate solutions and 9 – malignant hyperthermia and 5.

APA 7th Edition (American Psychological Assoc.) Diego Marre. (2018). Fundamental Topics in Plastic Surgery. Thieme.

Gregory's Pediatric Anesthesia

Gregory's Pediatric Anesthesia aims to fully prepare trainees and experienced professionals for modern practice by equipping them with the knowledge and cutting-edge techniques necessary to safely and successfully anesthetize children for a range of different surgeries and other procedures. Supporting their work with current data and evidence, the authors explore topics including basic principles, potential complications, and best practice, and illustrate their findings with detailed case studies that cover all major subspecialties. This essential new edition includes access to illustrative videos and features new and expanded sections, such as: Anesthesia for Spinal Surgery complications including postoperative blindness Robotic surgery for Pediatric Urological Procedures Anesthesia for Non-Cardiac Surgery in Patients with Congenital Heart Disease (new chapter) Extensive additional ultrasound images for regional anesthesia Neonatal Resuscitation The Pediatric Surgical Home and Enhanced Recovery after Surgery (new chapter) Now in its sixth edition, Gregory's Pediatric Anesthesia continues to provide reliable and easy-to-follow guidance to all anesthesiologists caring for younger patients.

A Guide to Mastery in Clinical Nursing

A Guide to Mastery in Clinical Nursing is designed for both new registered nurses and nurses transitioning to a new clinical area, this extensive clinical reference is the only resource to provide essential information on more than 300 topics from 11 specialty areas.
Relevant Anesthesia Sections: Chapter 6: Nurse Anesthesia. The content of this section is focused on the clinical aspects of nurse anesthesia care. The topics include a wide range of emerging clinical areas associated with surgical and clinical procedures, as well as comorbid conditions that influence the perianesthesia care of patients. The nurse anesthetist provides care in four general areas: preanesthetic preparation and evaluation; anesthesia induction, maintenance, and emergence; postanesthesia care; and peri anesthetic and clinical support functions (Foster, 2011). Given the broad scope of practice of the nurse anesthetist across the peri-anethesia continuum, the focus of this section is to provide novice- and intermediate- level nurse anesthetists with a resource that provides an evidence- based compendium of emerging clinical topics, novel surgical and clinical procedures, and management strategies for high- acuity patients planned to receive anesthesia.

APA 7th Edition (American Psychological Assoc.) Dr. Joyce Fitzpatrick, P. M. R. F. F., Celeste M. Alfes, D. M. R. C. C.-A. F., & Ronald Hickman, P. A.-B. F. F. (2018). A Guide to Mastery in Clinical Nursing : The Comprehensive Reference. Springer Publishing Company.

APA 7th Edition (American Psychological Assoc.) Dr. Joyce Fitzpatrick, P. M. R. F. F., Celeste M. Alfes, D. M. R. C. C.-A. F., & Ronald Hickman, P. A.-B. F. F. (2018). A Guide to Mastery in Clinical Nursing : The Comprehensive Reference. Springer Publishing Company.

Handbook of Anaesthesia and Peri-Operative Medicine

Handbook of Anaesthesia and Peri-Operative Medicine is an invaluable educational resource for trainee anaesthetists and an indispensible aide-mémoire for practising anaesthetists. It is, therefore, essential study material for trainees and a great educational tool for trainers and a useful companion.

Hernia Surgery

Hernia Surgery. Currently established operative techniques are described and explained in detail in the book and illustrated, step by step, with a wealth of brilliant figures and diagrams. Section 1.8: Anesthesia written by Ekkehard Schippers, covers general anesthesia, epidural and spinal anesthesia, local anesthesia, and local anesthesia technique.

Master Techniques in Upper and Lower Airway Management

Master Techniques in Upper and Lower Airway Management provides a video-illustrated, practical guide to the management of routine and complex patients and procedures. Each case will begin with a general discussion of the important topics encountered in the case. Then the case will be presented along with a series of questions. Images and video will present the patient's anatomy as well as use of intubation and other management equipment. Video and images will present relevant portions of the operative procedure. A strategic resource for anesthesiologists and nurse anesthetists in the OR.

Netter's Atlas of Human Anatomy for CPT Coding

Netter’s Atlas of Human Anatomy for CPT ® Coding, Third Edition, will serve as a useful reference for those who want to understand the anatomic structures cited in particular CPT codes descriptions or to learn more about underlying anatomic concepts. The illustrations featured within this book typically represent normal human anatomy and serve as a starting point for the understanding of anatomy as it relates to procedures and services that are performed to treat illness, injury, and pathologic conditions. In some instances, the illustrations may depict particular disease states or deformities as well as some procedural illustrations

APA 7th Edition (American Psychological Assoc.) Celeste G. Kirschner. (2019). Netter’s Atlas of Human Anatomy for CPT Coding, Third Edition: Vol. Third edition. American Medical Association.

Neuromuscular Spine Deformity

Neuromuscular Spine Deformity by Amer F. Samdani et al, is the most comprehensive book on this topic to date, detailing the latest surgical techniques for a wide range of common to rare neuromuscular pathologies, in 27 well-illustrated chapters.
Sections relevant to Anesthesia: Part 1: Section 4: Intraoperative Issues: Anesthesia, Neuromonitoring, Estimated Blood Loss

APA 7th Edition (American Psychological Assoc.)
Samdani, A. F., Newton, P. O., Sponseller, P. D., Shufflebarger, H. L., & Betz, R. R. (2018). Neuromuscular Spine Deformity. Thieme.

Pediatric Epilepsy Surgery

Pediatric Epilepsy Surgery, Second Edition, covers the Preoperative Assessment and Surgical Treatment: Anesthesiology sections include: anesthetic considerations for specific procedures - 256, 291, 447 and antiepileptic medications.

APA 7th Edition (American Psychological Assoc.) Oguz Cataltepe, & George I. Jallo. (2019). Pediatric Epilepsy Surgery : Preoperative Assessment and Surgical Treatment: Vol. Second edition. Thieme.

A Practical Approach to Pediatric Anesthesia

Practical Approach to Anesthesia Series, Combines the comprehensive depth of a textbook and the user-friendly features of a practical handbook. Focusing on clinical issues in pediatric anesthesia, it contains the in-depth information you need for daily practice and study, presented in a concise, bulleted format for quick reference. With its emphasis on developmental aspects of pediatric anesthesia, numerous illustrations and tables, and methodical approach to decision making, this updated reference is an invaluable resource for anyone involved with anesthesia of children.

A Practical Guide to Regional Anesthesiology and Acute Pain Medicine

This clinical reference has evolved with the many changes in this sub-specialty to continue bringing you the up-to-date, clinically focused, hands-on guidance you need to offer your patients the best possible care. Applies the latest advances in regional anesthesia and acute pain medicine. Originally authored by Michael F. Mulroy, MD.

Principles and Practice of Electroconvulsive Therapy

Specific Anesthesia Sections: Anesthesia, for ECT adjunctive pharmacological agents for, 93–96 common medications and dosing for, 83 critical aspects of, 79–80 difficult IV sticks and, 96 induction of, 82–88 medical issues and, 97–100 muscular paralysis and, 89–91 oral care during, 96–97 physical status classification system and, 81–82 pregnancy and, 100 relationship between psychiatrist and anesthetist and, 80–81 ventilation and, 91–93

APA 7th Edition (American Psychological Assoc.) Rasmussen, K. G., & American Psychiatric Association Publishing. (2019). Principles and Practice of Electroconvulsive Therapy: Vol. First edition. American Psychiatric Association Publishing.

Procedural Sedation for Infants, Children, and Adolescents

Procedural Sedation for Infants, Children, and Adolescents offers the latest guidelines on safe and effective sedation for infants, children, and adolescents. Invasive and noninvasive procedures are a common and necessary component in the management of infants, children, and adolescents with acute and chronic diseases.is a comprehensive guide for the initial design and implementation of a procedural sedation program and a tool to educate pediatric health care professionals on medications used for sedation, associated adverse events, and treatment of these adverse events. Contents include: Pre-sedation evaluation. Documentation and parental instructions. Monitoring for procedural sedation. Medications. Specific clinical scenarios. Non-pharmacologic interventions. Topical and local anesthetic agents. Quality improvement and assurance.

Quality and Safety in Anesthesia and Perioperative Care

Quality and Safety in Anesthesia and Peri-operative Care offers practical suggestions for improving quality of care and patient safety in the peri-operative setting. A must-have resource for those preparing for the quality and safety questions on the American Board of Anesthesiology certification examinations, as well as clinicians and trainees in all practice settings. Highlights concepts such as situation awareness, staff resource management, threat and error management, checklists, explicit practices for monitoring, and safety culture.

The Surgical Handbook

The Surgical Handbook contains in-depth medications and rapid access information. Medications and Anesthesia: Sections 16.1 and section 16.2.

Ultrasound-Guided Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine

Ultrasound-Guided Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine, 2nd Edition, includes techniques that are rapidly becoming today's standard of care: increased use of ultrasound for diagnosis and treatment of chronic pain and other medical conditions. Noted authorities discuss the techniques you need to know for upper and lower extremity blocks, truncal blocks, pain blocks, trauma and critical care, and more.

Walls Manual of Emergency Airway Management

The Walls Manual of Emergency Airway Management is the world's most trusted reference on emergency airway management, and is the foundation text in the nationally recognized.
Specific Anesthesia Sections: Anesthesia. See also Preintubation optimization; Sedation; specific drugs for asthma, 401, 402f, 403, 405 for blind intubation, 202 contraindications for, 274 for cricothyrotomes, 213, 219 description of, 273–274 drying imperative for, 277 for endoscopic intubation, flexible, 184, 188 for geriatric patients, 433 glossopharyngeal nerve blocked by, 276, 277f hemodynamic stability influenced by, 378, 395, 431 ICP and, 258, 388, 393–399, 396b indications for, 274 Jackson forceps used in, 277, 278f local, 274–278 for obese patients, 437 for pediatric airway, 290, 290t during pregnancy, 417, 420 for PTV, 224 for reactive airways disease, 401, 402f, 403, 405 seizures and, 424, 424b superior laryngeal nerve blocked by, 277, 278f techniques for hypopharynx, 273, 276 larynx, 277, 278f mouth, 273, 276 nose, 202, 276 oropharynx, 276, 277f RFST, 219–222 trachea, 277–278 for trauma patients, 388t, 389–390 vasoconstriction with, 276

APA 7th Edition (American Psychological Assoc.) Calvin A. Brown, John C. Sakles, & Nathan W. Mick. (2018). The Walls Manual of Emergency Airway Management: Vol. Fifth edition. Wolters Kluwer Health.

A Guide to Mastery in Clinical Nursing

A Guide to Mastery in Clinical Nursing is is an extensive clinical reference resource on more than 300 topics from 11 specialty areas. Relevant Anesthesia Sections: Chapter 6: Nurse Anesthesia. The clinical aspects of nurse anesthesia care. Emerging clinical areas associated with surgical and clinical procedures and perianesthesia care of patients. These include: preanesthetic preparation and evaluation; anesthesia induction, maintenance, and emergence; postanesthesia care; and peri anesthetic and clinical support functions (Foster, 2011). Provides the novice- and intermediate- level nurse anesthetists with a resource that provides an evidence- based compendium of emerging clinical topics, novel surgical and clinical procedures, and management strategies for high- acuity patients planned to receive anesthesia.

Anesthesia eBooks 2015 - 2021

Thank you for visiting our Libraries!

Visit Our Libraries

Northwestern State University of Louisiana Libraries    |   Watson Memorial Library   |  913 University Pkwy    | Natchitoches LA 71457
 

  |    Shreveport Education Center Library   |Eugene P. Watson Memorial Library    |    NSU Leesville Library 

   |  Prince Music Media Library