Nursing and Allied Health: Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders | DSM-5-TR

This text reinvigorates the emphasis on the therapeutic relationship that is the core of nursing practice. It also relies on our strong history as therapists and introduces a need for integration of all aspects of care, a true holistic approach that characterizes the nursing perspective...The book should serve as a review for nurses who are studying for certification exams [and is] very useful for coursework in DNP programs as well as the masters programs in psychiatric mental health nursing. -Grayce M. Sills, PhD, RN, FAAN Professor Emerita, Ohio State University From the Foreword Now in its second edition, this groundbreaking text and reference continues to be the only resource for APRNs to focus on integrative interventions forindividuals with mental health problems across the lifespan. Combining theory and practice, it provides a clear framework for integratingpsychopharmacology, psychotherapy, and Complementary and Alternative Medicine (CAM) into advanced practice nursing. The second edition is thoroughlyupdated to reflect current research, new classifications in DSM 5, genetic testing, and increased use of telemental health delivery. It builds upon itslifespan focus and updates quick-access pediatric pointers and aging alerts. Additionally, the resource incorporates the 2014 publication of the ANA Scopeand Standards of Practice for Psychiatric Nurses, offers a new focus on QSEN requirements, and responds to the need to reduce health disparities andaddress cultural considerations. Organized around psychiatric syndromes, the text covers neurobiology, theory and research evidence related to psychopharmacology, psychotherapy, and CAMinterventions. It provides a virtual buffet of clear treatment options in the form of well-designed decision trees and accompanying explanatory narratives.The text also includes a section on such special considerations as substance misuse, medical problems, pregnancy, and forensic issues that often co-occurwith psychiatric syndromes. Concise, clear language and abundant charts, graphs, and algorithms enhance the books’ value in supporting sound clinicalreasoning. New to the Second Edition: Thoroughly updated, evidence-based content Encompasses new research Presents three completely new chapters on Integrative Management of Impulse Control, Telehealth, and Quality Improvement and Evidence-BasedPractice Includes the expertise of new contributors Reflects DSM 5 updates, ANA Standard of Practice for Psychiatric Nurses, and QSEN standards Updates quick-access Pediatric Pointers and Aging Alerts Key Features: Integrates theory and practice Simplifies complex concepts using clear language while retaining depth of information Supports clinical decision-making skills through easy-to-follow Decision Trees Organized around psychiatric syndromes Edited by internationally acclaimed practitioner/educators

DSM-5® Guidebook: The Essential Companion to the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition is a user-friendly, supplementary guide for psychiatrists, psychologists, and other mental health practitioners who need to know how DSM-5® differs from its predecessor in terms of organizational structure, diagnostic categories, and the criteria themselves. While it does not replace the comprehensive and authoritative DSM-5®, it illuminates its content by teaching mental health professionals how to use the revised diagnostic criteria and by providing a practical context for its clinical use.The book offers many valuable features, including: • An historical overview of the development of the DSM in general, and DSM-5® in particular, a progression that might be said to mirror the evolution of psychiatry as a whole. The material on the creation of DSM-5® includes coverage of dimensional assessment, reliability and field trials, and the controversies that arose during development of DSM-5®.• An indispensable chapter on how to use DSM-5® that addresses coding, diagnostic certainty, the demise of the multiaxial system, and the key changes to each diagnostic category.• Full coverage of the significant reorganization from DSM-IV-TR® to DSM-5®, which is designed to incorporate advances in neuroscience, brain imaging and genetics. Chapters were reordered to reflect scientific advances in the understanding of psychiatric disorders, and the presumed etiological and the pathophysiological relationships among them.• Extensive coverage of the decision to integrate dimensional measures into DSM-5®, which may enhance the clinician's ability to assess symptom variation and severity and aid in patient evaluation, treatment decisions, and outcome monitoring. The various measures are presented and their use discussed.• Finally, as the authors were not part of the revision process, they offer a fresh, down-to-earth perspective that will resonate with clinicians by focusing on the changes that will most significantly impact clinicians'professional lives. DSM-5® Guidebook provides a roadmap to the many changes in this living document, DSM-5®, and will prove invaluable to psychiatrists, psychologists, psychiatric nurses, neurologists, social workers, and all who strive to understand mental illness as it is conceived today.

Sleep-Wake Disorders: DSM-5® Selections is crafted around a specific disorder cited in DSM-5®. This selection provides a comprehensive overview of the process of diagnosing sleep-wake disorders while serving as a reference guide to assist in the diagnosis of individual patients. The disorder-specific resource is an invaluable addition to the DSM-5® collection and an important contribution to the mental health profession.This book contains the critical disorder-specific content from these four titles: • Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition (DSM-5®) • DSM-5® Clinical Cases• DSM-5® Self-Exam Questions• DSM-5® Guidebook

The purpose of this series is to educate readers about the important diagnostic issues associated with categories of DSM-5 disorders. The initial books in the DSM-5 Selections Series are Sleep-Wake Disorders, Depressive Disorders, Schizophrenia Spectrum, Other Psychotic Disorders; Feeding and Eating Disorders, Neurodevelopmental DIsorders, and Anxiety Disorders. Each book in the series includes the diagnostic critera relevant to the disorders included in each category.