While a good memory is essential to excelling as a nurse, there are mobile apps that can help with health care knowledge recall and expediting communications. For nursing students nursing apps can help make you more effective and confident in your coursework and on the job.
What it offers: This simple app downloads a medication library to your phone. Great for students preparing for exams or nurses who need a quick reference point.
Availability: iOS and Android; Free
This is a great app for those in nursing school. This app is also a good reference for those who could use a refresher. NCLEX Flashcards app has over 2,400 premade flashcards that covers all aspects of the National Council Licensure Examination exam. This app will make studying for the NCLEX exam exciting and fun.
What it offers: Diseases Dictionary is complete offline and FREE app. This app is a great reference for medical disorders and diseases. Learn all information about symptoms, treatments, and medical terminology. Over 27,000 people have used and reviewed this app.
What it offers: This digital information resource app Includes sections on CPR, Assessing, Cardiac, Respiratory, Neurological, Pediatrics, and more. A helpful resource for students studying for general or specialty coursework.
Availability: iOS download Android download
What it offers: Similar to Nursing Central, Symptomate Symptom Checker allows you to input symptoms and learn possible conditions based on those symptoms in 2 taps. Symtomate allows the user to look up more than 50 symptoms and is perfect at bridging the gap between patient and healthcare professional.
Availability: iOS download
What it offers: With PEPID Connect, you can access a wealth of clinical knowledge, and medical tools through your internet browser on any laptop or computer. With different versions for different professions, including nurses, EMTs, physicians, students and more, this app provides detailed information for all elements of patient care. Students gain a credible and complete resource guide for coursework, lab exercises, and clinical practice. Browse evidence-based medicine, check full medication regimens for interactions, access the largest drug database on the market, explore indications, and so much more right from your browser.
Availability: iOS, Android, Blackberry, and mobile browser compatible; subscription starts at $215 for 1 year
What it offers: This app provides a quick way to identify more than 12,000 medications. You will be able to easily identify pills by imprint, shape, color, or drug name. Medscape's Pill Identifier helps you to ID generic and brand name prescription drugs, OTCs, and supplements. Search from over 10,000 tablets and capsules by imprint, color, shape, form, and scoring.
Once a medication is selected, you will be able to:
What it offers: This resource streamlines searches for information on prescription drugs, drug interactions, and a directory of providers. Nursing students can prevent mistakes on exams, and most importantly, provide proper treatment when they begin practicing.
Availability: iOS and Android; free,
What It Offers: Published by WebMD, this top free app provides access to a medical directory, continuing education, medical news, and clinical reference library. The news aspect of this app helps students stay up-to-date in the industry.
Availability: iOS and Android; free
What it offers: App version of WebMD website. Because Web MD is created primarily for the general public, nursing students can use the available resources on the app to practice describing care to patients with non-medical terminology.
Availability: iOS and Android; free
What it offers: This is a list of mnemonics used in medicine and medical science, categorized and alphabetized. A mnemonic is any technique that assists the human memory with information retention or retrieval by making abstract or impersonal information more accessible and meaningful, and therefore easier to remember; many of them are acronyms or initialisms which reduce a lengthy set of terms to a single, easy-to-remember word or phrase.
Over 1,500 acronyms, rhymes, and memory tricks to help nurses quickly learn numerous medical conditions, symptoms, and other medical terminology.
Here are some examples of mnemonics used in medicine with reliable sources.
What it offers: A mobile version of one of the best medical dictionaries on the market. Includes photos, videos, audio pronunciations, and functionality to save favorite entries. This dictionary has 65,000 definitions to help nursing students study for tests.
Availability: iOS, Android, Blackberry, and mobile browser compatible; $50 for 1-year subscription
What it offers: When deciding which mobile application to select why not start with one that has been used for more than 100 years? Black’s Medical Dictionary is a quick-and-easy reference resource to keep at your fingertips. This app has the necessities such as over 5,000 definitions. It also has a social media feature allow you to share information with friends.
What it offers: Ever come across a term that you don’t know the meaning? If not, you will. When you do, you will want to have this handy app. Eponyms features hundreds of obscure medical eponyms for easy searching.
What it offers: Information and reference for diseases, drugs, and tests for nurses, as well as a literature search function. Includes access to Davis’s Drug Guide, Taber’s Medical Dictionary, Diseases and Disorders, and MEDLINE Search and Journals, among other databases.
What it offers: Make accurate diagnoses and develop effective care plans with this comprehensive app. This mobile app includes 440 medical conditions with associated nursing diagnoses. Care plan guides and an index to search allows for quick navigation. Nurse’s Pocket Guide also features NIC and NOC labels for each diagnosis.
What it offers: If you are a professional nurse or a nurse pursuing their degree in mediatic care or emergency care you should download this app. Pedi STAT is a rapid reference for RNs caring for patients in a pediatric, emergency, or critical care environment. While it does carry a price tag between $4.99 – $5.49 depending on your phone’s operating software, it does provide tremendous value. With just a few taps, users have access to all the necessary data to care for a pediatric patient in the emergent setting, including weight-based and age specific medication dosages and equipment sizes.
What it offers: NurseGrid was developed by nurses to help manage the scheduling process. The app lets you schedule across all worksites, view who you’re working shifts with, message other nurses, and much more. [Entire units should use for optimal performance.]
What it offers: IDdx allows users to search by description and lists many infectious diseases that could relate to it. Currently, you can segment more than 250 illnesses by 39 epidemiological factors and 16 world regions. IDdx also displays pictures for diagnostics and support for emergency situations.
Availability: iIDdX Infectious Disease Database
MediBabble is a free, professional-grade medical interpretation app for healthcare providers. It currently downloads with English and Spanish included but additional languages are available as free downloads from within the application. Available for iPhone or iPad. Click "more" to find the list of languages. If English isn’t your first language, download this app. MediBabble Translator helps with communication with patients and improve care. Currently seven languages are available: English, Spanish, French, Cantonese, Mandarin, Russian and Haitian Creole.
Availability: iOS download
This free app provides countless amount of insight. From drug information, to access to medical journals, and the latest industry news, Skyscape Medical Resources is an all-in-one resource.
Availability: Android download iOS download