Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nursing and Allied Health: EBSCO eBooks Radiology Science & Allied Health

Online Learning

Welcome to the NSU CON-SAH Library

mesh

Radiology Science & Allied Health Gallery

Hybrid MR-PET Imaging : Systems, Methods and Applications

Series: New Developments in NMR
[Cambridge] : Royal Society of Chemistry. 2019

Functional Neurosurgery

.Highlights Imaging: MRI and CT for stereotactic neurosurgery, fMRI and resting state MRI Movement disorders:

Pediatric Epilepsy Surgery

Pediatric Epilepsy Surgery, Second Edition, covers the Preoperative Assessment and Surgical Treatment: Anesthesiology sections include: anesthetic considerations for specific procedures - 256, 291, 447 and antiepileptic medications.

APA 7th Edition (American Psychological Assoc.) Oguz Cataltepe, & George I. Jallo. (2019). Pediatric Epilepsy Surgery : Preoperative Assessment and Surgical Treatment: Vol. Second edition. Thieme.

Top 3 Differentials in Gastrointestinal Imaging

A series of radiology case books mirroring the highly acclaimed O'Brien classic, Top 3 Differentials in Radiology. The book is organized into five abdominal imaging sections covering hepatobiliary, pancreas and spleen, gastrointestinal (GI) tract, mesentery and vascular, and abdominal wall.

MRI: The Basics

MRI: The Basics, 4th Edition, offers an excellent introduction to the physics behind MR imaging. Clinically relevant coverage includes everything from basic principles and key math concepts to more advanced topics, including the latest MR techniques and optimum image creation. Hundreds of high-quality illustrations, board-style questions and answers, legible equations, and instructive diagrams take you from the basics of MR physics through current applications.

Abbreviated MRI of the Breast

This is the first textbook dedicated to the subject of abbreviated breast MRI (AB-MR). The editors are principal investigators in the first multicenter trial evaluating AB-MR. Each chapter is authored by a leading expert in the field of breast MRI.AB-MR only takes 10 minutes or less to perform, has a comparable cost to screening breast ultrasound, and detects twice as many cancers compared to combined screening with mammography and ultrasound.

The Physics of Clinical MR Taught Through Images

f MRI.Key FeaturesMore than 700 images, anatomical drawings, clinical tables, charts, and diagrams, including magnetization curves and pulse sequencing, facilitate acquisition of highly technical content.Eight systematically organized sections cover core topics: hardware and radiologic safety; basic image physics; basic and advanced image acquisition; flow effects; techniques specific to the brain, heart, liver, breast, and cartilage; management and reduction of artifacts; and improvements in MRI diagnostics and technologies.Cutting-edge topics including contrast-enhanced MR angiography, spectroscopy, perfusion, and advanced parallel imaging/data sparsity techniques.Discussion of groundbreaking hardware and software innovations, such as MR-PET, 7 T, interventional MR, 4D flow, CAIPIRINHA, radial acquisition, simultaneous multislice, and compressed sensing.A handy appendix provides a quick reference of acronyms, which often differ from company to company.The breadth of coverage, rich visuals, and succinct text make this manual the perfect reference for radiology residents, practicing radiologists, researchers in MR, and technologists.

Magnetic Resonance in Studying Natural and Synthetic Materials

This book describes nuclear magnetic resonance NMR methods which are used to study translational dynamics of molecules in different complex systems including systems made of synthetic and natural polymers, tissues and the porous heterogeneous systems of ...

Optimizing NMR Methods for Structure Elucidation

The use of NMR for structure elucidation to enable them to ensure they yield the most reliable possible data in the minimum possible time. It covers the latest pulse sequences, acquisition and processing methods, practical areas not covered in most texts e.g. detailed consideration of the relative advantages and disadvantages of different pulse sequences, choosing acquisition and processing parameters to get the best possible data in the least possible time, pitfalls to avoid and how to minimize the risks of getting wrong structures. Useful in industrial, pharma or research environments.

Body Imaging: Thorax and Abdomen

Description of key anatomic landmarks for rapid, confident orientation in the chest and abdomen. Precise, step-by-step guide to making the diagnosis. Key points summarized in boxes and tables. Comprehensive coverage. All the modalities in one volume; no need for lengthy lookups in multiple books. Focuses on the sectional modalities of CT and MRI, but includes plain radiographs and ultrasound as well. Answers to questions such as:Which modality is preferred?How are abnormalities recognized.

Pediatric Thoracic Imaging

Pediatric Thoracic Imaging is the first comprehensive text to focus on all aspects of pediatric congenital and acquired thoracic disorders. This text is an essential reference for pediatric radiologists, those in training and of special interest to general radiologists as well as clinicians in different pediatric medical specialties.

Sports Medicine in the Pediatric Office

This sports medicine resource provides step-by-step demonstrations of the examination and evaluation techniques for common sports injuries. The book includes more than 100 images, plus 2+ hours of video covering physical examination keys; when to order radiographs, CT scans, and MRIs;

Instrumental Intimacy

Brain-based EEG wearables ... promise to improve sleep, relationships, self-knowledge, and learning. Littlefield focuses specifically on EEGs'transition out of the laboratory and into the hands of consumers. While other brain-imaging technologies (such as MRI, PET, and MEG) are used only in specialized laboratories, human electroencephalography (a.k.a. EEG) is embedded in portable, user-friendly devices. These direct-to-consumer wearables visualize brain activity as accessible data, and many offer the promise of self-optimization.Littlefield's illuminating book brings the histories of EEG to bear on the contemporary development of EEG wearables via case studies of EEG-based sleep aids, bio-mapping instruments, fashionable surveillance tools, and athletic training devices.

Skull Base Cancer Imaging

Medical imaging is an essential tool for identifying lesions and critical adjacent structures. Detecting and precisely mapping out the extent of disease is imperative for appropriate and optimal treatment planning and ultimately patient outcome.Eugene Yu and Reza Forghani have produced an exceptional, imaging-focused guide on various neoplastic diseases affecting the skull base, with contributions from a Who's Who of prominent radiologists, head and neck surgeons, neurosurgeons, and radiation oncologists.

Endoscopic Sinonasal Dissection Guide

Complementary external approaches to the frontal and maxillary sinuses are illustrated. .Key Features: Videos available online.Exquisitely detailed full-color diagrams sequentially illustrate the appearance of the surgical cavity before and after resection, reinforcing the step-wise progression.Key concepts expertly elucidated through extensive illustrations, endoscopic views, and CT/MRI scans,

Solid State Insurrection

Solid state physics, the study of the physical properties of solid matter, was the most populous subfield of Cold War American physics. Despite prolific contributions to consumer and medical technology, such as the transistor and magnetic resonance imaging, it garnered less professional prestige and public attention than nuclear and particle physics.

Basics of Medical Physics

Describes the basics of medical physics and the clinical and experimental methods which a physician can be frequently encountered with. Medical physics is specific in dealing with the application of physical methods on a living organism. Therefore, it represents an interdisciplinary scientific discipline that combines physics and biological sciences. Covers a broad range of topics; it contains eight chapters: Structure of Matter; Molecular Biophysics; Thermodynamics; Biophysics of Electric Phenomena; Acoustics and Physical Principles of Hearing; Optics; X-ray Physics and Medical Application; Radioactivity and Ionizing Radiation.

Paramagnetism in Experimental Biomolecular NMR

Paramagnetic NMR is a growing technique that represents an increasingly important tool for the investigation of bio-molecules. This book presents an update and overview of the paramagnetic NMR phenomena and effects as well as guidelines for practical implementation of state-of-the-art experiments. All experiments are supported by a solid theoretical foundation. Areas mentioned are the development of solid state NMR, the use of paramagnetic tags providing information on the structure and mobility of the investigated systems, and dynamic nuclear polarization to increase sensitivity.
Subject: SCIENCE / Life Sciences / Biophysics

Electron Paramagnetic Resonance in Modern Carbon-Based Nanomaterials

Excellent overview of Electron magnetic resonance (EMR) and Double Electron magnetic resonance (DEMR). Good overview of ceramic and graphene nano-particles (material science).

MRI of the Musculoskeletal System

MR imaging is the only imaging modality that enables visualization of all components of the joints within single examinations. Features:More than 2000 MR images of reference quality, the majority new for this edition. Drawings, where helpful, aid the reader in identifying and delineating normal and pathological entities. Includes all the latest advanced techniques: MR neurography and myelography, diffusion imaging, quantitative MRI, mDIXON, and more All MR exams described fully, with choice of sequence, positioning, choice of coils, when / how to use contrast, protocols

MRI of the Prostate

Prostate MRI has emerged as the most precise, state-of-the-art imaging modality for prostate cancer diagnosis and management. Provides an overview of the fundamentals of prostate MRI acquisition, interpretation, and reporting. utilization of PET and PET / MRI for primary prostate cancer evaluation. More than 700 illustrations with one entirely image-based chapter featuring educational case studies. An essential source for MRI Technicians. Fundamental principles and clinical applications of the diagnostic and risk assessment imaging test of choice for prostate cancer: prostate MRIA.

Image Reconstruction

This book introduces the classical and modern image reconstruction technologies. It covers topics in two-dimensional (2D) parallel-beam and fan-beam imaging, three-dimensional (3D) parallel ray, parallel plane, and cone-beam imaging. Both analytical and iterative methods are presented. The applications in X-ray CT, SPECT (single photon emission computed tomography), PET (positron emission tomography), and MRI (magnetic resonance imaging) are discussed.

Nuclear Medicine

The specialized medical field in which radio-pharmaceuticals, i.e. drugs associated to radioactivity, are used for diagnostic or therapeutic purposes is a rapidly growing field. Combining radio-diagnostics to select positive responders to a treatment with efficient radio-therapeutics opens a highway for the development of personalized medicine. The introduction of Hybrid imaging technology PET / CT combines the Positron Emission Tomography (PET) modality with conventional high quality x-ray imaging. PET is now combined with Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI) in the hybrid equipment PET / MR. New tracers also came on the market with different diseases as targets, such as prostate cancer, neuro-endocrine tumours, or Alzheimer's disease.

Applications of NMR Spectroscopy

Applications of NMR Spectroscopy is a book series devoted to publishing the latest advances in the applications of nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) spectroscopy in various fields of organic chemistry, biochemistry, health and agriculture.The sixth volume of the series features reviews focusing on NMR spectroscopic techniques for studying tautomerism, applications in medical diagnosis, in food chemistry and identifying secondary metabolites.

MR Neuroimaging

Contains pure MR imaging of the CNS: neuro-imaging of the brain, spine and peripheral nerves. This book is intended as a reference for image interpretation. Tips for organizing examinations. Reference images for comparison with actual images. A reference book for looking up equivocal findings. More than 1,300 vivid, high-resolution images from the latest generation of scanners. Coverage of peripheral nervous system diseases and MR neurography. Optimal equipment settings at the workplace: in hospital or office settings.

Medical Imaging for the Health Care Provider

Relevant to a wide range of nurse practitioners, physician assistants, and other mid-level providers in multiple settings. Includes a step-by-step guide to the interpretation of radiographs. Delivers an easy-to-understand approach to selecting diagnostic imaging tests. Presents actual images and figures to demonstrate concepts, which are also available digitally. radiology interpretation texts by encompassing the foundational tools and concepts of the full range of medical imaging, including radiology, the basics of interpretation of plain radiographs, comparison with other testing modalities, the rationale for selecting the first diagnostic step, and exploration and interpretation of chest, abdomen, extremity, and spinal radiographs: descriptions enhanced with figures, tables, and actual patient films to demonstrate concepts, and discusses differences in testing modalities. The text also features a step-by-step guide to the interpretation of radiographs. This resource describes and compares available diagnostic modalities, including plain radiograph, CT scan, nuclear imaging, MRI, and ultrasound. It discusses pediatric considerations and includes separate chapters for the chest, abdomen, upper and lower extremities, and the cervical, thoracic, and lumbar spine. The book will be an asset to nurse practitioners and physician assistants working in all emergency, urgent, intensive, and primary care settings. It will also benefit medical students and graduate students in acute care, family, adult/gerontology, and emergency nurse practitioner programs, as well as emergency/trauma clinical nurse specialists, and hospitalists and intensivist nurse practitioners.Key Features:Integrates the basics of radiology, CT scans, nuclear imaging, MRIs, and ultrasound, their characteristics and differences among testing modalities, and basic step-by-step interpretation skills

Student Workbook for Radiography in the Digital Age

tudent Workbook for Radiography in the Digital Age is specifically designed for in-classroom use with the series PowerPoint Slides for Radiography in the Digital Age. Together with the textbook itself and the Instructor Resources CD, these products complete a full package of educational resources tailored for radiography courses in the Physics of Radiography, Principles of Imaging, Digital Image Acquisition and Display, and Radiation Biology and Protection. The Workbook is organized throughout in a concise “fill-in-the-blank” format, focusing on key words to reinforce students' retention of the material.

Quality and Safety in Radiology

Quality and Safety in Radiology offers practical guidance on understanding, creating, and implementing quality management programs in Radiology. : With a greater emphasis on patient safety and quality in imaging practice, imaging specialists are increasingly charged with ensuring patient safety and demonstrating that everything done for patients in their care meets the highest quality and safety standards. This book is especially helpful to those preparing for the quality and safety questions on the American Board of Radiology's 'Maintenance of Certification or initial Board Certification Examinations.

Quality and Safety in Medical Imaging

Quality and Safety in Medical Imaging: The Essentials zeroes in on a key aspect of radiology with Quality and Safety in Medical Imaging. You'll be brought up to date on radiation dose and safety, patient satisfaction, monitoring and reporting of complications, quality and safety in breast imaging, evidence-based radiology, quality dashboards, quality and safety in nuclear medicine, and much more.

Top Score for the Radiology Boards

Top Score for the Radiology Boards: Q & A for the Core and Certifying Exams is the ideal diagnostic radiology board prep resource. The book covers all exam categories, including non-interpretive skills (NIS), physics, safety, breast, cardiac, diagnostic radiology, gastrointestinal, genitourinary, interventional, musculoskeletal, neuroradiology, nuclear, pediatrics, thoracic, ultrasound/reproductive/endocrinology, vascular, and general radiology. Chapters are composed of four types of test cases of varying focus and complexity, each on a two-page spread. Essentials starts with a patient presentation, followed by board-type multiple-choice questions. Details begins with a case presentation, followed by 10 rapid-fire questions, enabling brisk, high-volume learning. Image Rich presents multiple images that require accurate identification, enabling accelerated, high-volume image assessment practice. More Challenging follows the same format as Essentials but adds a higher degree of difficulty.Key highlights. High-quality, board-type Q&A with detailed answer explanations. High yield' Top Tips 'for each case Special radiology artifacts section Image Rich and Details sections aid in rapid and lasting topic mastery Comprehensive review, covering all sections tested by the American Board of Radiology Written by experienced, expert question writers NIS chapter emphasizes proficiency in vital practice-related skills. This quintessential home-study guide will help radiology residents and fellows prep for and ace both the certifying and core exams.

Fast Facts for the Radiology Nurse, Second Edition

Fast Facts for the Radiology Nurse, Second Edition, is an orientation and nursing care guide for radiology nurses continues to demystify complex procedures by providing concise yet comprehensive information on the basics of radiology. Fast Facts for the Radiology Nurse, Second Edition covers over 50 different InterventionalRadiology procedures. The most current guidelines and protocols presents four completely new chapters on Legal Issues Affecting Radiology, Strategies for Working with Difficult People, Safety and Quality in the Radiology Setting, and Emergency Management and Catastrophe Response. Highlights essential protocols and procedures with bullets and short paragraphsProvides abundant “Fast Facts” boxes displaying key informationDiscusses strategies for providing safe careIncludes clinical pearls from radiology experts Addresses patient care in all radiology domains and with specific patient populations. Covers vascular access issues and emergency situations.

Clinical CT

Clinical CT: Techniques and Practice aims to give radiographers working in CT on a regular basis an extended knowledge of CT protocols and how they should be adapted to optimize image quality. It uses relevant clinical examples to demonstrate the advantages of the suggested techniques, which may not yet be in use in all hospitals. It covers all but the most rare of pathologies and will therefore also serve as a useful single reference for the busy radiographer.

Diffusion Weighted and Diffusion Tensor Imaging

Diffusion-weighted imaging (DWI) is an integral part of routine neuroimaging, used nearly universally in brain MRIs, and more recently for the spine, spinal cord, and head and neck. DWI provides clinically relevant information on conditions including stroke, infection, and neoplasms. Diffusion tensor imaging (DTI) is a powerful, newer technique with the potential for multiple protocols, including the diagnosis of mild traumatic brain injury and psychiatric disorders.Written by leading authorities in neuroradiology and radiology, More than 600 high-quality illustrationsProtocols and applications from early childhood to older adulthoodMethods to differentiate normal versus pathological statesBrain edema pathophysiology and use of DWI to distinguish between cytotoxic and vasogenic edemaUtilization of DWI and DTI to diagnose trauma, white matter disease, tumors, cerebrovascular disease, and head, neck, and spine disordersThis concise handbook is an invaluable resource for neuroradiologists and radiologists, as well as fellows and residents in these disciplines.

Review of Radiologic Physics

Fourth Edition, offers a complete review for radiology residents and radiologic technologists preparing for certification.. This new edition covers x-ray production and interactions, projection and tomographic imaging, image quality, radio-biology, radiation protection, nuclear medicine, ultrasound, and magnetic resonance. Revised to reflect the new, clinically-focused certification exams

CT and MRI of the Abdomen and Pelvis

CT & MRI of the Abdomen and Pelvis: A Teaching File : A Teaching File includes a wealth of case studies users can access from their laptop, tablet, or mobile device. The book is useful both as a quick consult or study aid for anyone preparing for Board examinations in Radiology and other specialties where knowledge of CT and MRI of the abdomen and pelvis are required.

Electro-magnetic Tissue Properties MRI: Modelling and Simulation in Medical Imaging, vol. 1

Electro-magnetic Tissue Properties MRI presents a comprehensive introduction to and overview of electro-magnetic tissue property imaging techniques using MRI, focusing on Magnetic Resonance Electrical Impedance Tomography (MREIT), Electrical Properties Tomography (EPT) and Quantitative Susceptibility Mapping (QSM). The contrast information from these novel imaging modalities is unique since there is currently no other method to reconstruct high-resolution images of the electro-magnetic tissue properties including electrical conductivity, permittivity, and magnetic susceptibility. These three imaging modalities are based on Maxwell's equations and MRI data acquisition techniques.

MR and CT Perfusion and Pharmacokinetic Imaging

Covers the basic principles of perfusion, as well as its many clinical applications. Broad coverage outlines the overarching framework that interlinks methods such as DSC, DCE, CTP, and ASL. International experts in the field demonstrate how perfusion and pharmacokinetic imaging can be effectively used to analyze medical conditions, helping you reach accurate diagnoses and monitor disease progression and response to therapy.

Brain Tumor Imaging

™Brain Tumor Imaging is a practical, comprehensive reference that covers all the methods of imaging used in the diagnosis and assessment of brain tumors. It includes key information on the use of advanced imaging technologies in the clinical setting for the successful treatment of patients with brain tumors. This book is an essential guide to advanced imaging modalities for all radiologists, neuro-radiologists, neuro-oncologists, and neurosurgeons involved in the treatment and evaluation of patients with brain tumors.

Neurosonology and Neuroimaging of Stroke

Neurosonology and Neuroimaging of Stroke offers both a clear overview of the principles of neurosonology and a casebook exploring critical cerebrovascular problems. Ultrasound anatomy, technical aspects of clinical application, and the advantages and limitations of ultrasound are reviewed and contrasted to conventional, magnetic resonance, and computed tomography angiography. Forty-five selected cases from the authors' extensive collections at Charite - Universitats Medizin Berlin and the Center of Neurology in Bad Segeberg, Germany, are then discussed. The patient histories and working diagnoses are followed by detailed assessments of the extra- and intracranial color-coded duplex sonographic findings and additional diagnostic procedures. The relevant clinical aspects are presented in a compact, comprehensible way, and for the majority of the cases videos are available in the Thieme Media Center, providing further in-depth understanding of the full potential of the method.Features:Complete extra- and intracranial arterial and venous ultrasound examination New techniques: ultrasound fusion imaging, ultrafast ultrasound, contrast application.

Breast Cancer: Diagnostic Imaging and Therapeutic Guidance

Breast Cancer: Diagnostic Imaging and Therapeutic Guidance provides a concise, practical, and practice-based source of up-to-date diagnostic and therapeutic information for the general radiologist. As well as discussing conventional mammography and adjunct modalities such as breast ultrasound and galactography, the text also showcases the superior utility of contrast-enhanced magnetic resonance imaging in providing the highest rate of detection of cancers at any stage. As well as radiological diagnosis, sections written by top specialists cover the interventional procedures for obtaining biopsies and also the surgical and medical therapy of breast carcinoma.

Nuclear Magnetic Resonance

Applications of nuclear magnetic resonance span a wide range of scientific disciplines, from physics to medicine. This series has provided an essential digest of the NMR literature for more than four decades and each volume provides unrivalled coverage of the literature on this topic. Continuous coverage on some topics such as theoretical and physical aspects of nuclear shielding is balanced by the desire for coverage on newer topics like applications in biological systems and materials science. For those wanting to become rapidly acquainted with NMR or seasoned practitioners, this is an invaluable source of current methods and applications.

Nuclear Medicine

The specialized medical field in which radio-pharmaceuticals, i.e. drugs associated to radioactivity, are used for diagnostic or therapeutic purposes is a rapidly growing field. Combining radio-diagnostics to select positive responders to a treatment with efficient radio-therapeutics opens a highway for the development of personalized medicine. The introduction of Hybrid imaging technology PET / CT combines the Positron Emission Tomography (PET) modality with conventional high quality x-ray imaging. PET is now combined with Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI) in the hybrid equipment PET / MR. New tracers also came on the market with different diseases as targets, such as prostate cancer, neuro-endocrine tumours, or Alzheimer's disease.

Basics of Medical Physics

Describes the basics of medical physics and the clinical and experimental methods which a physician can be frequently encountered with. Medical physics is specific in dealing with the application of physical methods on a living organism. Therefore, it represents an interdisciplinary scientific discipline that combines physics and biological sciences. Covers a broad range of topics; it contains eight chapters: Structure of Matter; Molecular Biophysics; Thermodynamics; Biophysics of Electric Phenomena; Acoustics and Physical Principles of Hearing; Optics; X-ray Physics and Medical Application; Radioactivity and Ionizing Radiation.

Personalized Medicine (Beyond PET Biomarkers)

Personalized Medicine (Beyond PET Biomarkers), which is an extension of the author's recently published book Progress in PET Radio-pharmaceuticals: Quality Control and Theranostics. In addition to recently-developed clinically-significant PET-RPs as biomarkers, this book describes various other emerging biotechnologies including: genomic medicine, nanotechnology, novel molecular biomarkers, and noninvasive imaging biotechnologies for early theranostics and personalized patient care, with minimum or no adverse effects. New therapeutic interventions including gene and cell therapies, pharmacogenomics, next generation sequencing, genome-wide association studies, proteomics, metabolomics, bioinformatics, systems biology complementing areas of pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics, human investigations and clinical trials, pharma covigilance, pharmaco epidemiology, and population pharmacology are some of the most significant disciplines of predictive, precision, and personalized medicine (PM) as described in this book. . In addition, enhanced permeability and retention (EPR) property of newly synthesized micro vessels of a hyper proliferating tumor is utilized to selectively invade the cancer stem cells is intricately described. Various noninvasive in-vivo imaging technologies including computerized tomography (CT), magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) along with magnetic-resonance spectroscopic (MRS) capability, single photon emission tomography (SPECT), positron emission tomography (PET), ultra sound alone or as hybrid images to obtain precise 5D anatomical landmarks, regional physiology, and biochemistry of the human body organs at cellular, molecular, and genetic level in health and disease are described. The book also describes invitro methods to acquire images of tissues and cells in culture employing digital infrared imaging, digital fluorescence microscopic, confocal microscopic, and fluorescence resonance transfer (FRET) resonance imaging for detecting apoptosis and/or necrosis at the cellular, molecular and genetic level.

Diffusion Weighted and Diffusion Tensor Imaging

Diffusion-weighted imaging (DWI) is an integral part of routine neuroimaging, used nearly universally in brain MRIs, and more recently for the spine, spinal cord, and head and neck. DWI provides clinically relevant information on conditions including stroke, infection, and neoplasms. Diffusion tensor imaging (DTI) is a powerful, newer technique with the potential for multiple protocols, including the diagnosis of mild traumatic brain injury and psychiatric disorders.Written by leading authorities in neuroradiology and radiology, More than 600 high-quality illustrationsProtocols and applications from early childhood to older adulthoodMethods to differentiate normal versus pathological statesBrain edema pathophysiology and use of DWI to distinguish between cytotoxic and vasogenic edemaUtilization of DWI and DTI to diagnose trauma, white matter disease, tumors, cerebrovascular disease, and head, neck, and spine disordersThis concise handbook is an invaluable resource for neuroradiologists and radiologists, as well as fellows and residents in these disciplines.

Review of Radiologic Physics

Fourth Edition, offers a complete review for radiology residents and radiologic technologists preparing for certification.. This new edition covers x-ray production and interactions, projection and tomographic imaging, image quality, radio-biology, radiation protection, nuclear medicine, ultrasound, and magnetic resonance. Revised to reflect the new, clinically-focused certification exams

CT and MRI of the Abdomen and Pelvis

CT & MRI of the Abdomen and Pelvis: A Teaching File : A Teaching File includes a wealth of case studies users can access from their laptop, tablet, or mobile device. The book is useful both as a quick consult or study aid for anyone preparing for Board examinations in Radiology and other specialties where knowledge of CT and MRI of the abdomen and pelvis are required.

Pocket Atlas of Sectional Anatomy, Volume III: Spine, Extremities, Joints

Pocket Atlas of Sectional Anatomy, Volume III: Spine, Extremities, Joints : Computed Tomography and Magnetic Resonance Imaging provides a highly specialized navigational tool for clinicians seeking to master the ability to recognize anatomical structures and accurately interpret CT and MR images.Highlights of Volume 3:New CT and MR images of the highest quality. Didactic organization using two-page units, with radio-graphs on one page and full-color illustrations on the next Concise, easy-to-read labeling on all figures Color-coded, schematic diagrams that indicate the level of each section. Sectional enlargements for detailed classification of the anatomical structure. Comprehensive, compact, and portable, this popular book is ideal for use in both the classroom and clinical setting.

Electro-magnetic Tissue Properties MRI: Modelling and Simulation in Medical Imaging, vol. 1

Electro-magnetic Tissue Properties MRI presents a comprehensive introduction to and overview of electro-magnetic tissue property imaging techniques using MRI, focusing on Magnetic Resonance Electrical Impedance Tomography (MREIT), Electrical Properties Tomography (EPT) and Quantitative Susceptibility Mapping (QSM). The contrast information from these novel imaging modalities is unique since there is currently no other method to reconstruct high-resolution images of the electro-magnetic tissue properties including electrical conductivity, permittivity, and magnetic susceptibility. These three imaging modalities are based on Maxwell's equations and MRI data acquisition techniques.

MR and CT Perfusion and Pharmacokinetic Imaging

Covers the basic principles of perfusion, as well as its many clinical applications. Broad coverage outlines the overarching framework that interlinks methods such as DSC, DCE, CTP, and ASL. International experts in the field demonstrate how perfusion and pharmacokinetic imaging can be effectively used to analyze medical conditions, helping you reach accurate diagnoses and monitor disease progression and response to therapy.

Brain Tumor Imaging

™Brain Tumor Imaging is a practical, comprehensive reference that covers all the methods of imaging used in the diagnosis and assessment of brain tumors. It includes key information on the use of advanced imaging technologies in the clinical setting for the successful treatment of patients with brain tumors. This book is an essential guide to advanced imaging modalities for all radiologists, neuro-radiologists, neuro-oncologists, and neurosurgeons involved in the treatment and evaluation of patients with brain tumors.

Neurosonology and Neuroimaging of Stroke

Neurosonology and Neuroimaging of Stroke offers both a clear overview of the principles of neurosonology and a casebook exploring critical cerebrovascular problems. Ultrasound anatomy, technical aspects of clinical application, and the advantages and limitations of ultrasound are reviewed and contrasted to conventional, magnetic resonance, and computed tomography angiography. Forty-five selected cases from the authors' extensive collections at Charite - Universitats Medizin Berlin and the Center of Neurology in Bad Segeberg, Germany, are then discussed. The patient histories and working diagnoses are followed by detailed assessments of the extra- and intracranial color-coded duplex sonographic findings and additional diagnostic procedures. The relevant clinical aspects are presented in a compact, comprehensible way, and for the majority of the cases videos are available in the Thieme Media Center, providing further in-depth understanding of the full potential of the method.Features:Complete extra- and intracranial arterial and venous ultrasound examination New techniques: ultrasound fusion imaging, ultrafast ultrasound, contrast application.

Breast Cancer: Diagnostic Imaging and Therapeutic Guidance

Breast Cancer: Diagnostic Imaging and Therapeutic Guidance provides a concise, practical, and practice-based source of up-to-date diagnostic and therapeutic information for the general radiologist. As well as discussing conventional mammography and adjunct modalities such as breast ultrasound and galactography, the text also showcases the superior utility of contrast-enhanced magnetic resonance imaging in providing the highest rate of detection of cancers at any stage. As well as radiological diagnosis, sections written by top specialists cover the interventional procedures for obtaining biopsies and also the surgical and medical therapy of breast carcinoma.

Nuclear Magnetic Resonance

Applications of nuclear magnetic resonance span a wide range of scientific disciplines, from physics to medicine. This series has provided an essential digest of the NMR literature for more than four decades and each volume provides unrivalled coverage of the literature on this topic. Continuous coverage on some topics such as theoretical and physical aspects of nuclear shielding is balanced by the desire for coverage on newer topics like applications in biological systems and materials science. For those wanting to become rapidly acquainted with NMR or seasoned practitioners, this is an invaluable source of current methods and applications.

Nuclear Medicine

The specialized medical field in which radio-pharmaceuticals, i.e. drugs associated to radioactivity, are used for diagnostic or therapeutic purposes is a rapidly growing field. Combining radio-diagnostics to select positive responders to a treatment with efficient radio-therapeutics opens a highway for the development of personalized medicine. The introduction of Hybrid imaging technology PET / CT combines the Positron Emission Tomography (PET) modality with conventional high quality x-ray imaging. PET is now combined with Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI) in the hybrid equipment PET / MR. New tracers also came on the market with different diseases as targets, such as prostate cancer, neuro-endocrine tumours, or Alzheimer's disease.

Physical Aspects of Organs and Imaging

Medical Physics covers the applied branch of physics concerned with the application of concepts and methods of physics to diagnostics and therapeutics of human diseases. The first part, Physical and Physiological Aspects of the Body, covers those body systems that have a strong physical component, such as body mechanics, energy household, action potential, signal transmission in neurons, respiratory and circulatory system as well as visual and sound perception. The second part of this volume, Imaging Modalities without Ionizing Radiation, introduces sonography, endoscopy, and magnetic resonance imaging. The second volume complements the imaging modalities with the use of ionizing radiation: x-ray radiography, scintigraphy, SPECT, and PET. This first part is followed by chapters on radiation treatment of tumors, in particular x-ray radiotherapy, proton and neutron radiation therapy, and brachytherapy. The last part treats aspects of diagnostics and therapeutics beyond radiology, including laser applications, multifunctional nanoparticles and prosthetics.

Advances in Medicine and Biology

The chapters in this volume present the latest developments in medicine and biology. Chapter Five discusses the impact of IgG4-related sclerosing cholangitis after hepato-biliary-pancreatic resection in our population and identifies non-invasive diagnostic methods, IgG-IgG4 serum values, and magnetic resonance cholangiography (MRC) images to diagnose this entity in the early postoperative period in order to avoid aggressive and unnecessary treatment.

Personalized Medicine (Beyond PET Biomarkers)

Personalized Medicine (Beyond PET Biomarkers), which is an extension of the author's recently published book Progress in PET Radio-pharmaceuticals: Quality Control and Theranostics. In addition to recently-developed clinically-significant PET-RPs as biomarkers, this book describes various other emerging biotechnologies including: genomic medicine, nanotechnology, novel molecular biomarkers, and noninvasive imaging biotechnologies for early theranostics and personalized patient care, with minimum or no adverse effects. New therapeutic interventions including gene and cell therapies, pharmacogenomics, next generation sequencing, genome-wide association studies, proteomics, metabolomics, bioinformatics, systems biology complementing areas of pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics, human investigations and clinical trials, pharma covigilance, pharmaco epidemiology, and population pharmacology are some of the most significant disciplines of predictive, precision, and personalized medicine (PM) as described in this book. . In addition, enhanced permeability and retention (EPR) property of newly synthesized micro vessels of a hyper proliferating tumor is utilized to selectively invade the cancer stem cells is intricately described. Various noninvasive in-vivo imaging technologies including computerized tomography (CT), magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) along with magnetic-resonance spectroscopic (MRS) capability, single photon emission tomography (SPECT), positron emission tomography (PET), ultra sound alone or as hybrid images to obtain precise 5D anatomical landmarks, regional physiology, and biochemistry of the human body organs at cellular, molecular, and genetic level in health and disease are described. The book also describes invitro methods to acquire images of tissues and cells in culture employing digital infrared imaging, digital fluorescence microscopic, confocal microscopic, and fluorescence resonance transfer (FRET) resonance imaging for detecting apoptosis and/or necrosis at the cellular, molecular and genetic level.

Looking Inside the Brain

In Looking Inside the Brain, one of the leading pioneers of the field, Denis Le Bihan, offers an engaging account of the sophisticated interdisciplinary research in physics, neuroscience, and medicine that have led to the remarkable neuro-imaging methods that give us a detailed look into the human brain.Introducing neurological anatomy and physiology, Le Bihan walks readers through the historical evolution of imaging technology—from the x-ray and CT scan to the PET scan and MRI—and he explains how neuroimaging uncovers afflictions like stroke or cancer and the workings of higher-order brain activities, such as language skills. Thanks to revolutionary neuroimaging techniques like magnetic resonance imaging (MRI). These groundbreaking advances have opened infinite fields of investigation—into such areas as musical perception, brain development in utero, and faulty brain connections leading to psychiatric disorders—and have raised unprecedented ethical issues.

Abdominal Ultrasound: Step by Step

Abdominal Ultrasound: Step by Step, third edition, contains more than 1,000 high-quality images and illustrations, enables hand-on learning, yielding the ability to assimilate these techniques quickly and adeptly. Taking the novice ultrasound practitioner through a series of steps across systems and levels towards scanning competency and evaluation of the findings. -- RAD Magazine. The third edition of this practical reference guide has been updated with a modern, visually attractive design and expanded content. The book is ideal for healthcare professionals with little or no experience in administering and interpreting abdominal ultrasound examinations. It is practice-oriented and structured in a way that allows readers with varying degrees of ultra-sonography knowledge to utilize the material according to their individual experience and needs.

OCT Angiography

OCT Angiography is the definitive guide on optical coherence tomography -- on a groundbreaking new ophthalmic imaging technique. The technology is transforming the ocular disease diagnostic paradigm - from the retina to the choroid - enabling precision-tailored patient management.Noninvasive and more sophisticated than fluorescein angiography, OCTA obviates the need for dye and yields an unprecedented level of detail. The layered visualization of the retina and choroid vasculature delivers greater understanding of retinal disease.

Imaging in Neurovascular Disease

Imaging in Neurovascular Disease : A Case-Based Approach highlights different neurovascular imaging procedures in disease management. Imaging findings are discussed in depth, with insightful clinical pearls on image-guided procedures and tips on managing potential pitfalls.Key Highlights. About 600 high-quality noninvasive images, such as MR angiography/ MR imaging, CT angiography/ CT perfusion, with angiography where applicable, elucidate a spectrum of findings Analysis of the imaging appearance of a diverse array of common to rare neurovascular diseases provides diagnostic and treatment insights.

Imaging Anatomy of the Human Brain

Imaging Anatomy of the Human Brain : A Comprehensive Atlas Including Adjacent Structures is a comprehensive visual atlas that presents a detailed overview of cerebral anatomy acquired through the use of multiple imaging modalities including advanced techniques that allow visualization of structures not possible with conventional MRI or CT. What follows is more than 1,000 meticulously presented and labelled images acquired with the full complement of standard and advanced modalities currently used to visualize the human brain and adjacent structures óincluding MRI, CT, diffusion tensor imaging (DTI) with tractography, functional MRI, CTA, CTV, MRA, MRV, conventional 2-D catheter angiography, 3-D rotational catheter angiography, MR spectroscopy, and ultrasound of the neonatal brain.

The Physics of Clinical MR Taught Through Images

f MRI.Key FeaturesMore than 700 images, anatomical drawings, clinical tables, charts, and diagrams, including magnetization curves and pulse sequencing, facilitate acquisition of highly technical content.Eight systematically organized sections cover core topics: hardware and radiologic safety; basic image physics; basic and advanced image acquisition; flow effects; techniques specific to the brain, heart, liver, breast, and cartilage; management and reduction of artifacts; and improvements in MRI diagnostics and technologies.Cutting-edge topics including contrast-enhanced MR angiography, spectroscopy, perfusion, and advanced parallel imaging/data sparsity techniques.Discussion of groundbreaking hardware and software innovations, such as MR-PET, 7 T, interventional MR, 4D flow, CAIPIRINHA, radial acquisition, simultaneous multislice, and compressed sensing.A handy appendix provides a quick reference of acronyms, which often differ from company to company.The breadth of coverage, rich visuals, and succinct text make this manual the perfect reference for radiology residents, practicing radiologists, researchers in MR, and technologists.

Imaging Anatomy of the Human Brain

Imaging Anatomy of the Human Brain : A Comprehensive Atlas Including Adjacent Structures is a comprehensive visual atlas that presents a detailed overview of cerebral anatomy acquired through the use of multiple imaging modalities including advanced techniques that allow visualization of structures not possible with conventional MRI or CT. What follows is more than 1,000 meticulously presented and labelled images acquired with the full complement of standard and advanced modalities currently used to visualize the human brain and adjacent structures óincluding MRI, CT, diffusion tensor imaging (DTI) with tractography, functional MRI, CTA, CTV, MRA, MRV, conventional 2-D catheter angiography, 3-D rotational catheter angiography, MR spectroscopy, and ultrasound of the neonatal brain.

The Physics of Clinical MR Taught Through Images

The Physics of Clinical MR Taught Through Images, fourth edition, presents a unique and highly practical approach to understanding the physics of magnetic resonance imaging. Each physics topic is described in user-friendly language and accompanied by high-quality graphics and/or images. The visually rich format provides a readily accessible tool for learning, leveraging, and mastering the powerful diagnostic capabilities of MRI.Key Features More than 700 images, anatomical drawings, clinical tables, charts, and diagrams, including magnetization curves and pulse sequencing, facilitate acquisition of highly technical content.Eight systematically organized sections cover core topics: hardware and radiologic safety; basic image physics; basic and advanced image acquisition; flow effects; techniques specific to the brain, heart, liver, breast, and cartilage; management and reduction of artifacts; and improvements in MRI diagnostics and technologies.Cutting-edge topics including contrast-enhanced MR angiography, spectroscopy, perfusion, and advanced parallel imaging/data sparsity techniques.

Neurosonology and Neuroimaging of Stroke

Neurosonology and Neuroimaging of Stroke is a comprehensive reference, a first-line modality in the diagnosis and management of cerebrovascular disease and especially of stroke. This noninvasive, real time imaging method has been given expanded coverage, particularly for its clinical utility.As in the first edition, the new edition offers both a clear overview of the principles of neurosonology and a casebook exploring critical cerebrovascular problems. Ultrasound anatomy, technical aspects of clinical application, and the advantages and limitations of ultrasound are reviewed and contrasted to conventional, magnetic resonance, and computed tomography angiography. The majority of the cases videos are available in the Thieme MediaCenter, providing further in-depth understanding of the full potential of the method.

Imaging Anatomy of the Human Spine

maging Anatomy of the Human Spine is a Comprehensive Atlas Including Adjacent Structures is most precise, cutting-edge images of normal spinal anatomy available today are the centerpiece of this spectacular atlas for clinicians, trainees, and students in the neurologically-based medical specialties. What follows is more than 650 meticulously presented and labelled images acquired with the full complement of standard and advanced modalities currently used to visualize the human spine and adjacent structuresóincluding x-ray, fluoroscopy, MRI, CT, CTA, MRA, digital subtraction angiography, and ultrasound of the neonatal spine. The vast array of data that these modes of imaging provide offer a wider window into the spine and allow the reader an unobstructed view of the anatomy presented to inform clinical decisions or enhance understanding of this complex region. Additionally, various anatomic structures can be viewed from modality to modality and from multiple planes.

Imaging of Cerebrovascular Disease

Imaging of Cerebrovascular Disease : A Practical Guide is a concise yet remarkably thorough textbook that advances the reader's expertise on this subject. A practical clinical resource organized into six chapters, this book offers unparalleled breadth in delineating the diagnostic and treatment usages of modern imaging techniques. sets a foundation with extensive coverage of modalities and their applications, including MR, computed tomography (CT) and digital subtraction angiography (DSA). Key Features:In-depth discussion of medical and neuroradiologic/neurosurgical interventions, focusing on the use of imaging prior to, during, and following treatment. Enhanced with more than 700 high-quality images.

Radiology & Allied Health eBooks in EBSCO Full-Text